1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Echo board?

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by Jr750, Dec 18, 2018.

  1. Cutlass327

    Cutlass327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    208
    I bought a Ranger EB-2015 board and tried it in my 520, and it didn't work right. The audio was so low. Others on here were saying it had to do with the way the high impedance mic is wired. I took it out and put it in my Cobra 25.


     
    Jr750 likes this.

  2. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,698
    Likes Received:
    6,209
    The mike that came with your 520 is called an "electret" mike.

    Have a close look at the back side of the stock mike and see if that word isn't molded into the case. If not, maybe this radio is older than I thought.

    "Electret" refers to the pickup cartridge inside the mike. It means that the audio wire in the mike cord feeds DC power up the wire into the mike's cartridge. The audio comes back down the same wire. The radio is built to feed power up to the mike and separate the audio coming back down from it.

    The echo board can be modified to do this, but a simpler solution is probably to use a conventional dynamic or power mike that works without having to borrow power from the radio.

    73
     
    Cutlass327 likes this.
  3. Cutlass327

    Cutlass327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    208
    Yep, I believe you pointed that out when I was trying to figure out my issue. I figured I should post my experience here to maybe save the OP some headache.
     
  4. Jr750

    Jr750 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    The echo board I picked up was from ebay a "T3". I have put 1 before on a Cobra 25 but I notice its not as easy on the uniden 520, so its still sitting there till I see or find how someone else has done it. Ill put it in when I have the time.
     
  5. jon666

    jon666 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    793
    best place to install echo board toss it in the garbage
     
    oldtymer, ExitThirteen and NZ8N like this.
  6. Jr750

    Jr750 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well I installed the T3 echo and it works but audio is low with Astatic 636 mic and the stock mic does not work with the echo, don't know why.

    Any way I came across this note on a sales page,
    Note:
    (If you intend to use an RK56 or an Astatic 636 noise canceling mic we must be informed. More than likely the mic amp circuit of the radio will have to be modified in order to achieve the correct percentage of modulation.)

    Does any one know how to do this or can explain how too?, Thanks.
     
    Cutlass327 likes this.
  7. Cutlass327

    Cutlass327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    208
    It's good that they recognize the issue. Maybe they need to either post how to mod it or else make sure it is well described in the listings for them that there is a mod for those mics. I know I was trying with the stock mic, a RD104E mobile mic, and a Silver Eagle D104 (TUG9?) base mic.
     
    Jr750 likes this.
  8. Jr750

    Jr750 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    I would like to see someone put this mod but it seems like its Top Secret or only this 1 person is the only one that knows how to do it. But some will post of other things to do instead of answering what is being ask. Don't want an Echo mic, Don't want a power mic, :censored::LOL:
     
  9. sonoma

    sonoma Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    917
    whoever made the echo is saying to contact them if you have the problem mentioned. have you contacted the manufacturer as they say to do?

    (If you intend to use an RK56 or an Astatic 636 noise canceling mic we must be informed. More than likely the mic amp circuit of the radio will have to be modified in order to achieve the correct percentage of modulation.)
     
  10. 391redneckradio

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    I put one of those boards in a Cobra 29. Best sounding echo. Hard to find. Its the 50B board I believe. Don't buy the new version you see out there. Its like a Connex Ranger 2015 echo board. Supposed to be a remake of that board. Big disappointment. Voltage temperamental and the echo is very touchy.
     
    Jr750 likes this.
  11. Jr750

    Jr750 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not talking about the echo board that is all set and works fine.
    Talking about N/C Mic, there's a mod for mic circuit to increase the audio. When the stock mic is replaced by a N/C Mic audio drops.
    The note quote above came from Clay's radio webpage, seems like the only place I have seen that someone knows how to do the mod, maybe someone can post how to do this mod on the new 520.
     
  12. Jr750

    Jr750 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Great sounding board, not like the news ones now, I had it in a Euro3900 sounds so clear now I have it in a Cobra 25 and it sounds great.(y)
     
  13. 391redneckradio

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have an older Galaxy 44v and original single final Connex 3300 with 50B echo board. Sound absolutely great. There people who say echo should be thrown in the garbage. Thats because, most echo boards now days are digital junk and people don't how to adjust. I did the "hifi" cap mods to both these radios and with the good echo/reverb adjusted with a slight ring off at the, gives that nice wet sound, with 636L.
     
  14. sonoma

    sonoma Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    917
    if you have a schematic for the 520 radio might help some one to look at it.
     
  15. Jr750

    Jr750 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    That's one of the issues everyone has with this new model 520, no one can find the schematic for it. CB Tricks has it for the older Philippines model the board has change alot since then. Even if you look at the file for alignment for this radio it don't match what you see on CB Tricks. I'm no tech but I have to say I'm having fun messing around with these radios. But soon I'll have all the testing equipment I need from reading up in this Forum.
    . IMG_20190323_164305.jpg
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!