• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Experiments

G-Golly Wally

WDX 719 SE Oklahoma
Nov 5, 2008
Southeastern Oklahoma
I'm sure somebody on the forum has tweaked and peaked a Uniden 510 pro xl. I got bored yesterday and started messing around with mine. I lowered the dead key, to much I think, and I'm having trouble bringing it back up. ( wrong tool for job) but I work in the oilfield so what else is new. My dead key is almost nonexistent but swings to about 19 watts. Although I could be wrong, it's been a couple of years since I've fiddled with the inside of a radio, and I'm no expert by any means! I also cut the modulation limiter. ( I know) CB is so dead around here it probably won't matter. I plan on using my messenger 250 with it. If that goes well then I have plans for an echo board. I have an old TBR1 I used in a Cobra 29, I really liked it, used more for reverb than anything. But I've lost the Installation instructions to it. I figured if I burn my radio down, I don't have a lot invested in it, so I can pick up another one if need be. I'm open to any advice or suggestions, I know their not high dollar radios, I'm just having a little fun.

Reactions: Shadetree Mechanic

im using the schematic for the 510e so if the XL is different this won't work.

for starters, don't mess with L4 and L5. those are part of the filter network and spreading them is only going to cause harmonics.

L6 and L9 should be peaked for maximum modulated wattage. that means using your voice or a tone while peaking them.

the easiest way to lower the deadkey in a radio like this, and most AM only radios for that matter, is to add extra anti-spike diodes in series with the original.

in this radio, that's D7. get yourself some 1N4003 diodes, and unsolder one end of D7.