• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

First post and new Galaxy DX-979

Darkbeer

Feb 10, 2013
Hello folks, I am new here...just been lurking and trying to learn a little.
I drive a truck for a living. I just purchased a Galaxy DX-979 from Effingham Radio Repair on Ebay, the radio sounds great but I was wondering about the power levels.
I paid to have it peaked and tuned but it shows a little over 3 watts and swings to a bit over 6 watts.
I email the seller and was told that Galaxy radio's can't be tuned as high as other radio's.
I personally think I got the short end of the stick.
Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Darkbeer

Sounds like you got the Effing Tune, alright! There is no reason that rig should not put out at least 20 watts ssb, and about 15 swing on AM. Maybe more if it is a Mosfet final. You *can* turn it up yourself, but I leave that to the pro's. Read some posts here on who to send it to.

And welcome to the forum!

RT307

Sounds like you got the Effing Tune, alright! There is no reason that rig should not put out at least 20 watts ssb, and about 15 swing on AM. Maybe more if it is a Mosfet final. You *can* turn it up yourself, but I leave that to the pro's. Read some posts here on who to send it to.

And welcome to the forum!

RT307

Thanks, that's kinda what I thought from the research I have done. And thanks for the welcome..

Hello folks, I am new here...just been lurking and trying to learn a little.
I drive a truck for a living. I just purchased a Galaxy DX-979 from Effingham Radio Repair on Ebay, the radio sounds great but I was wondering about the power levels.
I paid to have it peaked and tuned but it shows a little over 3 watts and swings to a bit over 6 watts.