• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Grant XL having problems!!

1jonnyz

Dec 30, 2011
I picked this Grant XL up at a hamfest for a great price but am having problems getting it aligned... I am using these alignment instructions
The Defpom Grant XL (PB-208AA) alignment page

When I first put it in my truck the tx and rx were not that great, I figured it needed to be aligned. I have the equipment to do it although I am pretty new to this. When I started messing with it I found some problems... BTW, this has the PB-208AD board in it.

I can not get the ch19 AM adjusted to 34.9815MHz, the closest I can get it is 34.9895, and the slug is all the way out. I can get it tuned with the clarifier however.

I get .790Mhz on Ch1 AM and it is supposed to go up 10Khz a channel then, but I have several channels that stay the same as I change channels.

What is really bothering me is that when I test the mA at TP 7 & 8 I get nothing at all.

I discovered today that the clarifier does not work for channels 1 through 8, and channels 9 and 10 the clarifier doesn't work on AM, only on LSB and USB. Any channels higher it works fine on LSB, AM, and USB???

It doesn't appear to have any major changes made to it... I did put in a 2n6487 AM regulator, schottky diodes, Q14 to 2sc2999, and upgraded some of the electrolytics.

I would REALLY appreciate anyone's help here as this is a nice looking radio and I would really love to get it working right! Thanks!!!

Jon

Adjust for 34.3515MHz (New Zealand).

Adjust for 34.985 MHz (FCC).

Alignment:
http://www.cbtricks.com/radios/cobra/148gtl/graphics/cobra_148_gtl_sm_pg48_pg63.pdf