• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

How does modelling antennas help us

northern35s

Jan 24, 2011
I see a number of issues on this particular section of the forum with regard to antenna modelling software and real World results. Let me start by saying I am a rank amateur when it comes to modelling software, I use freely available software and play at it, and maybe learn something along the way.

I know we can't account for everything real World that may affect an antenna, but we can use modelling to help us understand what's happening and plan our installations accordingly.

Here's a post I made on an anateur HF mobile yahoo group I'm a member of, I've added brackets and italics is to help explain the post a little :

I'm pretty sure we've discussed this before, about height above the sea and the anecdotal benefits some have observed. Well tonight I decided to model and compare a 20m 1/4WL ground plane antenna at 1m and 10m high respectively, now considering the sea makes an almost perfect groundplane I was surprised to discover the large difference between the two heights, I've uploaded an image to the forum under my callsign for you to see, and below is a link to the image on photobucket:

20mvertcomp_zpse2458516.jpg