• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

It's ham radio!

Hurricane145

Aug 12, 2011
Don't know how it ever got started but you see it as "HAM" ( I am new to HAM...) all the time in more recent years in various forums.
It is not really capitalized in the middle of a sentence. It is not an acronym nor a capitalization. It is just plain old ham radio which is something of a nickname for amateur radio. No one is certain why or just when it was started to be called ham radio and that we are hams. There are just some plausible explanations.
The most likely explanation is also the simplest. That early on the professional telegraphers and people in what ever professional broadcasting there was at the time thought of early amateur radio operators as a bunch of hams. Same as those actors who "ham it up" on stage. From some of the personalities I have heard on the ham bands over some 45 years, that explanation would sure seem to fit well!!

Thank you. And now back to our regularly scheduled forum.

Reactions: Captain Kilowatt

Agreed. Nobody knows for sure where the name ham first came from but at least most know it is "ham radio" and not capitalized. Another plausible origin of the name ham operator came from the old professional telegraph operators referring to those early experimenters as amateur radio operators or simply "am's" for short. With a rough Cockney accent that tended to sound like an "H" was added to it and those amateur radio operators became known as hams.

I don't much care for that version of events.