• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Kenwood TM-V71A RX/TX CTCSS Programming Issues

charleshatten

Feb 24, 2014
Well here goes. I am new to ham radio. I am using the MCP-2A to program my TM V71A. The frequency sheet that I am using has RX and TX freq. My question is (example) freq RX154.1900 TX 154.1900 has a RX CTC110.9 and the TX has a CTC 100.0 however the MCP-2A allows me to check the CTC , but I can only input one CTC # I am at a loss. thanx

154.1900 mhz isn't an amateur radio frequency that we can use as far as I know. I think that's in the public service spectrum. You're not doing any hamming there are you? The hams that like to use those frequencies usually wind up featured in the FCC Enforcement log.

charleshatten

I am a volunteer Search and Rescue for my county. The freq's that I am programming are authorized for me to load into my radio for possible use when dicatated by my county DEM or Sheriffs office.

No, they are not 'authorized' for your use with a radio that's not certified for Part-90 service, and that ham radio isn't certified. (You can do all the listening you want though, just leave out the CTCSS.) The Sheriff can't authorize that radio's use on pub/serv frequencies. He can certainly authorize your use of those frequencies with an approved radio though. Not the same thing at all. Sorry 'bout that...
- 'Doc

I was an EMS administrator in Southeast Ohio. We turned a blind eye, as did the local volunteer fire chiefs, police chiefs and surrounding sheriffs on the issue of dudes using their own radios