• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Looking for a possible tabletop receiver

Matthew Lawson

Jul 18, 2020
Hi, I'm fairly new to shortwave listening, having a CCrane Skywave SSB radio only and I'm thinking about purchasing an Alinco DX-R8T.

A few questions.

First of all, what is your experience with its performance? Does it perform well? Would it perform well in a electrically noisy room with a good antenna outside?

What type of connector connects to the antenna jack? What is it called?

What type/brand of antenna would you recommend for it and for easy install? Would it require power or grounding?

What if a high vertical antenna is not an option?

Could you use the MLA-38 loop antenna with it?

Thank you for your help! I'm fairly new to this, so I have alot of questions! Take care.

- Matthew Lawson

Reactions: Shadetree Mechanic

Thank you, Gary!

I looked through your links. Could you explain the links to me? Is dxengineering.com where you would buy one?

What about the palstar? I like the price of the Alinco.

What about the quickstart and kv5r links?

Hi, I'm fairly new to shortwave listening, having a CCrane Skywave SSB radio only and I'm thinking about purchasing an Alinco DX-R8T.

A few questions.

First of all, what is your experience with its performance? Does it perform well? Would it perform well in a electrically noisy room with a good antenna outside?

What type of connector connects to the antenna jack? What is it called?

What type/brand of antenna would you recommend for it and for easy install? Would it require power or grounding?

What if a high vertical antenna is not an option?

Could you use the MLA-38 loop antenna with it?

Thank you for your help! I'm fairly new to this, so I have alot of questions! Take care.

- Matthew Lawson