• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Magnum 257 HP - good for 10 M use?

Turbo T

Certified CB Rambo
Feb 2, 2011
P5130051%20(Small).JPG

magnum257hp-back.jpg

Magnum-257HP-lg.jpg

I'm thinking about asking my wife to buy me one of these for Christmas, since high ticket items like this I only get at Christmas. As a holder of an amateur technicians license, I mainly run on 2 meters and 70 centimeters, but the opening of the 10 meter band has me wishing I had a 10 meter radio.

I've been wanting one of these for a while even before I became a ham. Would one of these be any good on 10 meters? Or should I look elsewhere?

The magnum 257HP Radio , is a 10 meter mobile radio, with sideband. I've never worked 10 meters before, so I'm not real sure on what radio i should get.

Thanks in advance.

Is it a decent radio?
No doubt!

It will provide xlnt SSB for 28.300 to 28.500mHz.
It also has a tone board and programmable repeater offsets for the FM/AM portion of 10M (Gen Ham Lic.).
Receive is xlnt. Might be noisy in an older car, but in a newer (non electric) car or used as a base radio it is xlnt. .

Last edited:
I just picked up a HP version off a board member here. I had an orange light version years ago that I wish I would have never let go. The only thing with this HP version at the damned blue backlighting. Other than that it is an awesome radio. Made quite a few stateside DX contacts in the mobile with only a little Wil.

Please take what you read there with a grain of salt.....as soon as someone describes the radio as a " hacked up HTX 10 /cb " the rest of the lions jump on the road kill wagon.
I wonder how many of the ones that talked the radio down has had one on the bench and tested the radio to see if it meets the reported "splatter box" discription?