1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

MegaWatt power supply

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by undertaker, Jul 27, 2018.

  1. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    568
    Hello All, Just got my new power supply 50 amp. Now my question is how do I know how much to turn it up to properly run my radios. My 955HP is the only one that shows voltage.

    Thanks in advance!!!


     

  2. Blackcat630

    Blackcat630 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    279
    I used my old trusty fluke digital volt meter. Set it to 14.0 and haven't looked back..
     
    357magnum, wavrider and kaos513 like this.
  3. K3ACZ

    K3ACZ W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    137
    I got the 35 amp. Free harbor freight meter.. setup and go..
     
    357magnum likes this.
  4. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    568
    Great a volt meter it is!!!:D:D:D:D(y)(y)
     
    357magnum likes this.
  5. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    568
    Ok wait I have never used one. How do I set it?

    I have been dealing with death way to long!!!!
     
    357magnum likes this.
  6. wavrider

    wavrider W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,247
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    red to positive
    black to negative
    If al else fails read instructions
     
    357magnum and undertaker like this.
  7. TM86

    TM86 Destroyer of radios

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    125
    Wait... there's instructions?
     
    undertaker and 357magnum like this.
  8. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    568
    Well what do you know I got one and the instructions told me what I need to know!!!

    Thank you forum members:p:rolleyes:
     
    codeman and wavrider like this.
  9. codeman

    codeman Recovering Crackerhead

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    146
    Hey if I can hook it up and not burn my place down anybody can :confused:
     
    357magnum and undertaker like this.
  10. jon666

    jon666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    487
    love my megawatts got 3 of them
     
  11. TheRealPorkchop

    TheRealPorkchop Certified Sith Pimp

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    33
    Does it have a fan or fans inside it? If so, are they loud? My Cosel drives me fruity, those two little fans move a lot of air and cause me to move a lot of Excedrin.
     
  12. N0NB

    N0NB Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    74
    If it's like the 70 amp Megawatt, yes, there is a fan and it is LOUD. I bought one of those supplies about a year and a half ago, discovered the noise issue, and finally sold the supply a while back without ever using it. YMMV
     
  13. K3ACZ

    K3ACZ W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trying to toss up between another 30 amp or 36 amp.. thinking of grabbing a 300-350w linear... Says the fuse is 30 amp.. the 30 peaks at 33 amp and is only $58 vs $68.. I hate budgets..

    My current 30amp model runs my 100w Alinco with ease..
     
  14. jon666

    jon666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    487
    yeah i still have the 70 in the box fan is crazy noisy
     
  15. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    347
    I have the 50A and run my TS350DX with it. I took the noisy fan out and ran it without the cover for a while to see how hot it gets. I would bet the TS pulls less than 25A and the heatsinks inside the Megawatt barely get warm. I put the cover back on without the fan and plan on mounting it vertically so the convection air current from the small at of heat it does make will keep it cool.
     
    undertaker likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!