• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need help selecting a HT

KQ9U

W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member
Dec 8, 2010
Indiana
I'm hoping to buy one under $200. I primarily want 2 meter. UHF would be nice but not necessary.

My main concern is operating range. I would like to be able to use it while in the Upper Peninsula in Michigan while camping and on ATV rides.

I have no experience in HT and would like some suggestions. And any information on features I should make sure I get and perils to avoid.

Thanks

John

Buy one of the Chinese units from a place like radiogearpro.com or one of their competitors that I can't think of right now.

Go cheap for now.

I am reluctant to buy Chinese stuff. I don't like supporting Communist countries. I would rather pay more for one made in Japan or elsewhere unless the price difference was overwhelming.

I am reluctant to buy Chinese stuff. I don't like supporting Communist countries. I would rather pay more for one made in Japan or elsewhere unless the price difference was overwhelming.

i understand your viewpoint,..... however,.... i STILL would get a cheap WOXOUN ht ,...... less than $100.

they are actually quite well made for the price. when it breaks, throw it away, or pay around 3 to 4 times the price for a japanese one,.... YMMV

Boy I'll bet it's a real blast shopping with you. Ever try and make do with NOTHING ever made in China. :D

Buy the damn Wouxun and be done with it.

No, I have just about decided either a Yaesu FT-250R or FT-270R. The FT-250R is $114.95 and the FT-270R is ten bucks more.

I wouldn't be saving that much with a Wouxun.

I'm going to do some more researching before I make up my mind.