• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need some help: Designing a CLEAN mobile install CB/Ham

Red Ranger

Aug 16, 2008
This is what I am planning up right now.

I have a 1992 Buick Regal, and there is NO room in there to mount a standard CB radio, it has a center console!

I am a Tech Licensee, and a CB user.

There are a few things I want.

-NO RF in the interior, call coax/transmitters must be in trunk.

- A CLEAN INSTALL, as few wires in the interior as possible.

Right now I am planning on using two NMO, hole-thru-trunk lid antennas.

-A 440/144/50 MHz tri-bander(for ham max 200 watts)

-a Larsen 27-30 Mhz antenna(max 200 watts)

I got two setups in mind:

Setup#1
Ham radio: FT-8900R 10M/6M/2M/440 Mobile(with remote head) using a CR627B 6M/2M/440 Antenna

Ten Meters/CB: a Cobra 75WXST hand held CB w/ two extension cables and mount the "box" in the trunk, (X-Force amplifier set for 200 watts max) and run it to the Larsen 27 MHz antenna (no frequency expansion, and no SSB on ten meters!) :(

This setup I will only have three wires into the interior, the Cobra control cable, the cable for the ham radio head unit, and a cable for a communications speaker.

Option #2
Buy a Yaesu FT-857D, mod for the expansion. Run THREE antennas on trunk lid.

have the 144/440 output go to a dual band antenna, have the 50MHz/HF out go to a Diamond duplexer(MX610) then the 6 meter feed goes to a 6 meter antenna and the HF feed goes to a X-force amp and runs 200 watts to a 27-29 MHz Larsen antenna.

This setup will have two wires to the interior, the control head and the speaker wire. It also is the most expensive!!