• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need suggestions on a radio... AM/SSB

mroneeyedboh

Mar 9, 2014
Hey guys,
Im brand new to radios and looking for one that is good in both AM and SSB. I started off looking for a Cobra, then went to a General Lee, then an amp driven Lee and now Im looking for something with SSB. I thought ehh why not. Id rather have it and not use it then to want it later. I have the mindset of buy once, cry once... to an extent.

Im looking for a radio that is capable of AM and SSB but that isnt plagued by drifting on SSB and the other odd things that can happen while on SSB. I know AM is pretty straight forward. Id like to be around 200-300w if at all possible. So I dont know if its worth buying something low powered and then adding 2-300w or buying a HP radio and adding an amp.

I was looking at the stryker955 which seems to be 100%, but I seen people say its hard to get used to etc. Now is that because its a new layout design that the more seasoned guys arent used to ( Less toggles etc )? If thats the case then, if I'll be learning on the 955, it shouldn't be any different then me learning on a more traditional style, right?

My price range is around the stryker-955's price. Id also like suggestions on an amp as well.. possibly the MF200-300?

Thanks guys!

Exports in general will take some getting used to, as will SSB if your not used to it. The learning curve is not too steep though. Can't go wrong with either radio mentioned, it comes down to preference. The stryker seems a little high priced for what you get, but from what I understand the build quality is supposed to be good. RCI 2950 is another that always seems to come up when your discussing SSB radios.

Hey guys,