• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Newbie Here w/Some DX Questions....

hobie102

Feb 25, 2014
Greetings everyone from the frozen tundra of VT (God forsaken H... Hole). I recently picked up a Uniden 980ssb w/a Ranger SRA198 Mic. I built a base antenna off of instructions given by Cryptic Cricket on youtube using a 102" ss whip mounted to the peak of the house. I'm getting a flat 1.0 swr. Reception has been incredible since powering it up this past weekend. I heard some folks from CA as if they were sitting in the room with me as well as BC, New Orleans LA, MO, Lots from FL, Jersey, MN, ME, Montreal and today I listened to a guy in the UK and Spain yesterday. I live in a deep valley with 3000+ ft mountains on either side running north to south. The valley is app' 3/4 of a mile wide. I haven't been able to connect with anyone yet. According to my cheap'o swr/watt meter from Radio Hack I've got a 2 watt deadkey AM with a swing to a solid 4 watts and 10-12 on SB.(Not that the meter is that accurate) I know the swr is spot on as it is the same on the radio.

Please give me your thoughts on whether I will ever be able to transmit to connect living where I do. Also, I have heard that unlocking the clarifier will help. Can someone explain this more? I have a Sirio Turbo 5000 arriving tomorrow and will be mounting it to the CC and heading up high to see what happens. Reception is incredible on this little radio.
Thanks for any input you may have.

Yes you should be able to. You're best trying on SSB. The mountains won't really be an issue as to work DX you're bouncing your signal off the ionosphere.

Rule of thumb is you should be able to work stations you can hear at about the same at their end but that is reliant to some extent on having the same power but thats something you don't know.