• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Newbie question

White Wino

Oct 24, 2009
Hello all, new to the forum and hoping to get something cleared up.

I have a radio that I want tuned and fully aligned. I have lurked around some forums and seen topics on this subject,but mostly the replies ended with have a certain tech do the tune. My concern is with the unit transmitting the best audio quality(that it is capable of) while also being able to punch through all the trash out there.......Let me first say that I have no knowledge of how electronics actually work. I can hook up a radio and run wires without blowing fuses lol,and have knowledge of the radio functions, I also feel as though I know what a good sounding radio sounds like unlike ALOT of my truck driving colleagues.

Power vs. Modulation.....Clipping vs. not Clipping.

My understanding of power and modulation is this, Power determines,along with how well your antenna is tuned, how far your signal gets transmitted. Modulation determines the level of audio that is transmitted. In other words, power will punch through all the traffic and modulation makes sure you have a high level of audio going out. I feel that may not be the case which is why I am asking.

As for the clipping or not. I am not one who feels that clipping is taboo, crappy audio is though, but I know the limiter plays a roll in the signal quality.I have heard good sounding radios that have been clipped and of course the ones that have been clipped and the mic-gain up way too high resulting in a distorted mess of a signal.