• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Question about interference in the home

3x5

Feb 27, 2016
USA
Hello,

First, I apologize for the newbie questions, and if this isn't an appropriate place to post this, please let me know where to go and I'll post there.

I'm pretty new to CB and Shortwave. I have a Realistic TRC-430 that I've connected to an AC adapter, following the manual's instructions. It has a magnetic antenna to stick on your car. I also have a Cobra handheld CB and an old JVC shortwave receiver.

When I plug in the Realistic, I get static on every channel. At first I thought my antenna needed some metal to attach to, so I found a large, metal bowl and attached it to this, which didn't help.

The static is uniform on every channel, and doesn't change when I move the antenna around. This leads me to believe that it isn't an issue of bad reception, but rather that it isn't receiving anything at all.

The handheld does receive transmissions, when I'm using the battery. As soon as I plug in my AC adaptor, the handheld sounds just like the other unit, with uniform static.

My shortwave receiver picks up transmissions, with a lot of static and interference. I noticed that it would get worse when I plugged my laptop into the same power strip, so I plugged into an outlet across the room. This still interfered with the signal.

My setup is in a room next to the furnace, and when the furnace kicks on, this also affects the signal. So this all leads me to believe I have a grounding problem in my house. Can any of you tell me if I'm correct about this, and what I need to do to resolve the issue? Thanks so much

The AC adapter is most likely the source of the noise and probably doesn't have the filtering it should do.