• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

RADIO NOISE? High pitch whine!!!

Buzzard78945

Feb 8, 2020
Ok so I’m a Diesel Technician, not a radio technician I’m working on it.....

My truck, a 07 Dodge Ram 2500 with a Cummins Diesel engine has a high pitched whine noise with all radios ( narrowed it down to the truck Wife’s truck don’t do it ). High pitched whine when I start the truck, worse when I drive, AND stationary when I rev. the engine the RPMS change the noise higher pitched and louder... engine off noise gone... higher RPM more/louder noise

through process of elimination (I have 2 batteries yes I know they are connected together no it don’t change noise either batt ) I’ve tried moving the power and ground to numerous locations no change, I hooked the power and ground to the alternator (see if it’s way worse) no change

THEN! I got to thinking what else is controlled by a signal... the injectors are 80v PWM controlled by the ECM... so I disconnect the forward valve cover plug ( front 3 cylinders only) engine is stuttering running rough (only off of rear 3 cylinders ) and you can hear the noise change... it’s not a smooth sound any more, it sounds like a stutter like the engine is now running....

What can I do as far as a noise compressor?
I’ve seen some bad results in the way of noise compressor causing issues on a scope you can find that video on YouTube idk just what I seen on there

what can I do to limit the noise coming through the power/ ground circuits supplying the radio?

Also I’ve looked into wrapping the power supply in
Ferrite ...

Any suggestions?
Any input is appreciated obviously any knowledge is out weighing mine at this point...

thanks for all the help!

The Radio Shack *Flavor Radio" is great for narrowing noise issues.