• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Retailers Breakin the Law?

I have a question for you. I'm not being a 'smart ass', it's a legitimate question seriously asked. Are any of you lawyers? Or are you aware of the legal processes, the loop-holes, the 'wiggle' room which can be employed to obstruct or lengthen the legal processes involved in this sort of thing? Have you ever had a 'taste' of it?
I'm not a lawyer, I don't have a great grasp on all the legal permutations, but I have had a 'taste' of it. That 'taste didn't involve if a radio was legal or not, it dealt with interference, which isn't the same thing at all. It does illustrate the problems if you think about it though.
It came down to me being put under a restraining order which basically said I couldn't transmit at all until the matter was resolved. This was NOT in a federal court, it was at a 'county' or state court level. Yes, I know that's not legal, they can't do that. Are you aware of the trouble and expense required to fight that sort of thing? Not being financially able to afford that I didn't transmit for a month until the court date. I'm also aware that there are organizations which say they will assist in this sort of thing. Tried that, it would have taken longer than the month I couldn't transmit, would have postponed the scheduled court date, and was still not free by any means. So guess who waited. The matter was resolved before going to court but had to do that anyway. When I tried to explain some of the federal regulations, and about the federal preemption with interference enforcement I was told by the jusge that it was a mute point and he wouldn't listen to me. (No, it wasn't CB related, but does show the legal 'establishment's attitudes.)