1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

rewire Motorola Professional Mic for CB use?

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by freezy, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. freezy

    freezy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello new guy here. I have 3 Motorola professional radio microphones that I picked up at a garage sale. I believe the radio provides power to the microphone (electret?). I doubt i caN reuse these for cb, but I wanted a better opinion


     

  2. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    2,730
    Depends on what you got. Did you look up the model #'s of the mics? Did you look st the spec sheet and find out if they are low impedance mics? Do you have a mic wiring diagram of those mics?

    Need to find that stuff out. If they fall into the same specs as a CB ('low impedance') dynamic mic; then they may work well. If they are electret mics; then you can't use them on a CB. Motorola didn't make any junk- IIRC . . .
     
  3. freezy

    freezy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    there were no spec sheets available. They were just 3 tangled mics i got for 50 cents. I will have to look closer tomorrow (later today?). I gotta go to work now.
     
  4. Shockwave

    Shockwave Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    If you figure out how to do this, let me know. Motorola seems to have put a little effort into making their mics incompatible with other equipment. There are three problems with getting this to work on another radio. The mic is powered by the radio. To complicated issues, this power is the current flowing through the closed TX connections. Meaning when you place the preamp and mic element across the TX line, the radio transmits while this current powers the mic. Last, there are no contacts available to control a receiver.
     
  5. ExitThirteen

    ExitThirteen Grumpy and Cranky

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    There's a way to make these mics work on standard CB radios, but requires a relay to be installed in the radio. If you have some electronics savvy, and are good with a soldering iron, it can be done. I have wired in a few of these mics on some Cobra 148 GTL's a with good success in the past.


    ~Cheers~
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. 2RT307

    2RT307 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    749
    Funny, I was eyeballing one on the communication radio while riding a bus to the airport the other day. They sure look heavy duty, that's for sure.

    73,
    RT307
     
  7. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,739
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    They usually are built like a brick.
     
  8. freezy

    freezy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    model # HMN 1080A. It has a 6 conductor plug
     
  9. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    2,730
    Found this diagram for the mic. Looks like it requires voltage for the condenser mic element and circuit to operate.


    [​IMG]
     
  10. freezy

    freezy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have 2 new motorola mics for sale. here on this site....really cheap.

    this project is beyond my skill
     
  11. 22racer

    22racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Any new info on this, or the new model 10 pin mics?
    My buddys company is updating all their equipment and I may be able to get some of their throwaways.
     
  12. VE6SDG

    VE6SDG W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    Care to share the details? I'm looking to do the same thing as I'm lucky if i get 2 months out of a mic before the plastic POS clip breaks off in my Jeep.
     
  13. ExitThirteen

    ExitThirteen Grumpy and Cranky

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    VE6SDG,

    What radio are you currently running in the Jeep? Give me a model, and I can assist from there.



    ~Cheers~
     
  14. VE6SDG

    VE6SDG W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cobra 29 wx/nw/st...I've got the Pro series Motorola mic, All black and rounded not the chunky squared off one.
     
  15. ExitThirteen

    ExitThirteen Grumpy and Cranky

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Ok, good, can you get the model number off the mic? I'll need that also. I'll look up the schematics for both the radio and mic, and go from there.



    ~Cheers~
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!