1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Skip for Low wattage Stock cb crowd lsb 30

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by xm49north7, May 9, 2019.

  1. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,523
    Likes Received:
    7,636
    Been into radio for 40+ years and never heard tell of that. Propagation generally follows the sun but even that has exceptions. Early morning I work into Europe which is due east from me. As the day progresses DX shifts towards Africa with the Caribbean coming in late in the day and into the evening. Late at night it shifts towards the Pacific into Australia and New Zealand. If I stay up late enough it shifts towards East Africa sometimes in the wee hours of the morning and occasionally I have worked Europe after supper which would place ME west of them in the same direction that THEIR sun has shifted.


     

  2. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    3,590
    Sounds like you are working the gray zone.
     
  3. Rick330man

    Rick330man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    374
    Simple question, all:

    would everyone be interested in trying to work LSB 16 this upcoming week-end?

    We've been getting decent skip these last two days. If our luck holds, maybe we can give the OP's idea some legs on LSB 16 (instead of 30) and take some of the pressure and congestion off of LSB 38.
     
  4. S&W357

    S&W357 Supporting Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    680
    I try LSB 16 each time I turn the radio on...skip or no skip taking place. Only thing I hear there is AM traffic. SSB outgoing transmissions from me bring no results on 16.

    But...I always try and will again this weekend. (y)
     
  5. xm49north7

    xm49north7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    153
    Will be calling on 16 for sure, and all the 30's, folks if you can, move off the call channel (38) or (16) once you make contact, This is just good practice, and shows your a good operator, and it helps everyone, and it is fun as well, try usb, move around, 120 options to play with. This will help open up the band for everyone.
     
  6. Low_Boy

    Low_Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    364
    I thought 36 through 40 and 16 and 17 were SSB channels. Gentleman's agreement. I thought.
    Lets start talking SSB everywhere. How about 19 lol.
     
    314 and xm49north7 like this.
  7. S&W357

    S&W357 Supporting Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    680
    I heard people talking skip on channel 30 SSB this afternoon. Still hear no SSB (not even skip) on 16 SSB.
     
  8. Alan Blackmon

    Alan Blackmon Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    78
    I am all in for the 16 lower reclaim project.
     
  9. Da3m0n75

    Da3m0n75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’m game for the 16 LSB idea
     
  10. Alan Blackmon

    Alan Blackmon Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    78
    Wouldn't it be fun to do lower 16 at stock power. No amps. Omni or beams ok.
     
    xm49north7 likes this.
  11. Rick330man

    Rick330man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    374
    Here's what I posted to start another thread here on WWDX in an effort to get the troops ready this week-end to reclaim or revive (a matter of perspective) LSB 16.

    A few of us have been working to bring LSB 16 back into the mainstream - mostly as part of an effort to relieve the congestion on LSB 38. Here's what I suggest for our next coordinated effort.

    Saturday, June 22nd:
    9:00A.M. eastern/8:00A.M. central/6:00A.M. pacific;
    12:00 noon eastern/11:00A.M. central/9:00A.M. pacific;
    3:00P.M. eastern/2:00P.M. central/noon pacific;
    6:00P.M. eastern/5:00P.M. central/3:00P.M. pacific.

    Sunday, June 23rd:
    9:00A.M. eastern/8:00A.M. central/6:00A.M. pacific;
    12:00 noon eastern/11:00A.M. central/9:00A.M. pacific;
    3:00P.M. eastern/2:00P.M. central/noon pacific;
    6:00P.M. eastern/5:00P.M. central/3:00P.M. pacific.

    Of course, these are just suggestions. Anyone can try at other times, too. However, my thinking is that getting folks out there at coordinated times will help the chances of making contacts.

    Please feel free to chime in with other ideas. I don't want to be a hog about this - just a strong proponent. I'm glad to keep the ball rolling and have the group of us tweak as good suggestions come forward.
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  12. Dominator 126

    Dominator 126 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    I bought a 980 are they good radios on sideband the truck stop I went to it's all they had in the ssb lineup
     
  13. Rick330man

    Rick330man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    374
    It is just past 3:00P.M. eastern now and I don't hear a soul on LSB 16. It definitely does not sound like the skip is rolling in.
     
  14. RT431

    RT431 In the swamp

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    155
    I have a 980 with a Turner hand mic in my truck and good reports on SSB.
     
    Dominator 126 likes this.
  15. Dominator 126

    Dominator 126 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    I put my cobra stock mic on it locals says it was louder than the bearcat mic
     

: stock, ssb, skip

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!