1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

SR-955 SSB problem

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by 22racer, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. 22racer

    22racer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    34
    Unfortunately this is my first and only SSB radio, so I'm unable to check SSB with another radio. The rest of my radios are AM only.(This actually irritates me as I saved up to get what I thought would be a high end full featured radio, but...)



    There are no locals to speak of here...

    Any info on that full reset would be much appreciated....
     
    #31 22racer, Jun 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2013

  2. 22racer

    22racer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    34
    What causes squealing and how can you remedy this problem? Simple adjustment of an internal pot? What equipment would I need to fix it? I have a watt meter and I can get a dummy load.
     
  3. Tucker442

    Tucker442 101E

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    143
    I think you have some kind of miss match in your setup. As long as no one has messed with pots inside of the radio I would send it back for a warranty repair don't mess with it yourself if your not familiar with SSB radios or high out put radios.
     
  4. 22racer

    22racer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    34
    Still having the same problem with all the same symtoms.... Its been installed in two more trucks... 86 chev with 10ga straight to the batteryand a Siro performer 5000mag and a 98 Z71 in the cig lighter with a mag.

    Any new thoughts??

    Im saving up for something else...
     
  5. 222DBFL

    222DBFL Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    1,340
    Try a larger gauge wire. #8awg or larger. #10awg may be too small for the total length of the run and will cause the radio to starve for voltage and amperage. How long of a run are you using for the power? And what size fuse is at the battery. I use #2awg from battery to fuse, from fuse to my radio (magnum 257hp) I use #6awg. I would only use #10awg for a single or dual final radio, but what you have is a high power radio that draws upwards of 15 amps. 10amps conservatively. JMO, try some good power wire of a larger size and make sure to use a good fuse block at the battery and good wire. Walmart or any stereo shop will carry the necessary parts needed. Get a 30 amp fuse for the battery and leave the fast blow fuse in line for the radio. This will ensure full power to the radio. I know ssb operation tends to use max power or close to it on these radios and they need to be feed by some good power. Also, grounding the radio, use the shortest ground to frame you can. Again JMO. And as far as the swr meter issue, set it up like others have said, or disable it and use an external meter. Again JMO. Hope you get it right and god bless.
     
  6. 22racer

    22racer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    34
    The 10ga is a ten ft run. It is fused with a 40A Maxi fuse at the battery. The two wire/three pin plug in the the back of the radio is 12ga (factory) and has been cut to about a ft long. It has 10A glass fuses in both the hot and the ground wires at this point (in the 12ga section) and the ground wire is a 10ga running back to the negetive post on the battery.

    I will be adding another Maxi fuse to the ground side at the battery soon...
     
  7. Z-MAN 369

    Z-MAN 369 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    Have you tryied the reset option? Push in and hold all 3 buttons on left hand side while you turn the radio on, should reset everything. There is a couple VR's for SSB, try the limiter VR?
     
  8. JCH

    JCH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    28
    I, for one, appreciate a "grouchy", no-shit assessment - it helps people like me that don't know much about this stuff. Keep on keepin on.
     
  9. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    Guess im lucky mine works great. And i got it from BobsCB...
     
  10. Tucker442

    Tucker442 101E

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    143
    Bob's CB did me wrong I wouldn't buy a mic plug from them. Sorry Screw me one time were done.
     
  11. RBR762

    RBR762 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is a great thread (LOVE IT)
     
  12. CbRadiosPRONTO

    CbRadiosPRONTO Performance Ready Radios

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    77

    I believe that is the reset option for the cre8900 not the stryker 955. There is a reset option on the Stryker. I just can't remember what it is for sure. It might be in the menu. Google it and you'll find it. The reset option has fixed a few Stryker 955's for me.

    Before you go and toss the radio for another, fix the issue and try it again. I've used that radio quite a bit in the past. It talks very well on SSB. Stability doesn't seem to be an issue. The only complaint I have is the receive is overly sensitive. That's actually a pretty big problem because you have 3 issues: 1. Bleed overbid terrible. 2. Noise from engine, traffic lights etc is terrible. 3. You have to turn the receive way way down if you're too close to people or they sound completely garbled.

    Getting a hold of stryker is possible over the phone. Bathe beat way, strangely, is through their Facebook site. Second best is email.

    Key CB is the auth svc center. Google them. They're good. Call them and just send it in. It'll be fixed and you'll Benin your way.


    CbRadiosPRONTO
     
  13. Z-MAN 369

    Z-MAN 369 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    I was playing around with the data cord & software the other day and my 955 got stuck on 28.0000. A window popped up on the web site and the tech quickly helped me out, told me to hold all 3 tiny buttons in and turn radio on......WORKED!. Im getting acquinted alot with this awesome radio, any questions im always on-line somewhere.
     
  14. Tucker442

    Tucker442 101E

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    143
    Mine is there for 3 weeks now getting an issue fixed with the power all the way up I am sure it will come back fixed 100%
     
  15. CbRadiosPRONTO

    CbRadiosPRONTO Performance Ready Radios

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    77
    Zman. What tiny buttons you referring to?


    CbRadiosPRONTO
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!