• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Studying for the license

Skip seeker

Dec 5, 2022
Ireland
So Apart from
Being Able to speak to more people on
Other bands and frequencies , what are the real benefits of studying and obtaining your license and Call sign .

There is always good propagation. Just switch bands.
Ham bands are government protected. Noise, interference form neighbours on ham bands, you are protected. I had problems with powerline noise, once big transformer was replaced by my call.
Other time noise from faulty insulator. Replaced.
Exchanging QSL cards for peanuts.
And so on...
Mike

I'm currently studying to get my ticket. I really enjoy the sound quality and the nightly nets on 80 meter. Can anyone explain why knowing the internal electrical components of a radio is required? It's a license to legally transmit on amateur frequencies not radio repair. You have to have a license to legally drive a vehicle but you don't have to know how how it works. I'll get through the test though.

Reactions: Alan Blackmon
There is just more to do, if you get your general or higher tick you have the world at your finger tips. If you like playimg with high power now can do it legally. If one band is dead then you have many others that are probably open. I have a friend in Salt Lake City, ( I am in Chicago)he and I try to connect upevery weekend and 99% of the time we can.

There is just more to do, if you get your general or higher tick you have the world at your finger tips. If you like playimg with high power now can do it legally. If one band is dead then you have many others that are probably open. I have a friend in Salt Lake City, ( I am in Chicago)he and I try to connect upevery weekend and 99% of the time we can.
That's slick connecting with your friend.