• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Suggestions for first HF antenna

Turbo T

Certified CB Rambo
Feb 2, 2011
I have acquired my first 10 meter radio that I am going to run as a base radio. At this time I am studying for general.

I would like to purchase something to use on my 10 meter radio. I have also considered something for an antenna that I can grow into.

I do not know much on HF antennas so please bear with me. But I'm not sure if I should go with a dipole, or a single antenna dedicated to 10 meter only use.

Also I noticed there's those antenna tuners...I've heard they're supposed to make the radio "think" it has the right antenna....? Is this to allow you to run 1 antenna on several bands?

Thanks in advance.

As far as antennas go I have limited room, so I put up a Cushcraft R6000 vertical. It has a small footprint and covers 6, 10, 12, 15, 17 & 20 meters. I found mine NIB along with 100' of new Cable Xperts cable of FeePay for less than half of the cost of the antenna alone. (y)

Build a 10 meter dipole like new hams have done for years (or used to do anyway). Once you learn from building that antenna, build another one for another or multiple bands. I was a ham for 15 years before I bought my first commercially made antenna.

Build a 10 meter dipole like new hams have done for years (or used to do anyway). Once you learn from building that antenna, build another one for another or multiple bands. I was a ham for 15 years before I bought my first commercially made antenna.

Agreed.