• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Texas Star DX500 repair advice

Matego

May 17, 2019
First off, thanks for the great site and info you guys share. I am very much a novice to the CB world. I am a diesel mechanic and traded some work for an older DX500 amp that he said had a smoke smell from it last time he used it.
I pulled off the cover and the 10uf chokes are burned. I know he has a tuned up Connex radio and the power leads had spade connections on them. I am thinking he was over driving it and had a poor power feed dropping voltage. Those crimp on spades don’t carry current well.
Anyway, I was going to replace the chokes and the 25 ohm 5 watt resistors. Is there anything else to check? Visually nothing else is discolored but I know that’s not an accurate way to tell if there is more damage.
I do not know what I am going to do with this once completed. I do have a Bearcat 980 in my Jeep but I don’t have a need for something this big. I would like to get it working properly and stash away for a possible future project. Thanks for any help.

Attachments

• 5CE3FAEA-B57A-41E6-B387-9298800E8C3F.jpeg
    5CE3FAEA-B57A-41E6-B387-9298800E8C3F.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 254
  • E813CFA4-0BA3-460F-88AF-89823D67AB0F.jpeg
    E813CFA4-0BA3-460F-88AF-89823D67AB0F.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 254

I agree with Tallman. Spade connectors and driving it with a hot radio says a lot about the install so who knows what swr was on top of the already disastrous conditions. Odds are pretty high that the pills and parts around them might be toast. Of course that's what I would start looking into

Can't patch the hole in the top of a piston after a valve gets stuck open.

I'd love to see someone (else) post a step-by-step video showing how to test those expensive RF power transistors.