• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

The AstroPlane Another Viewpoint

Marconi

Usually if I can hear em' I can talk to em'.
Oct 23, 2005
Houston
Below is a report on the Avanti AstroPlane antenna done back in the days. I posted some numbers, and some Internet exhibits that claims Avanti professionally tested their AstroPlane (A/P). I did this just for a little history on the AstroPlane.

I have documents and posted below 2 Eznec models that tend to support Avanti claims...who did the tests, and how it was done. I also provide some verification information on the author of the test report.

i studied the details of this report and tried to follow the ideas for their construction, so that I could try and duplicate their results.

So, this is what I hope these models will show us.

I scaled an old Asto Plane model to 144 Mhz. I started with a model that had a full 1/4 wave radiator. I did this for my convenience in modeling.

IMO these 2 models tend to support much of what Avanti has claimed in their advertising.

In the PDF files below is the Avanti's AstroPlane test report, an old ad I found in CB Magazine. I found the Technology News report talking about the Engineer Avanti used to do this research. Followed by the 2 models in the PDF file posted below.

Sorry for the poor copies, working with old copies of copies is tough. If you can't see something clearly...try using the PDF print. The Zoom functions might help improve the images.

Models: AstroPlane at 144 MHz set 72" inches to the feed point (1 wavelength high - see the report).