1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Tram D201 low transmit and modulation

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by klj2497, Jun 13, 2019.

  1. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I checked the voltages of the rf driver tube v700 i swapped out tubes with no change. pin 8 shows -.5v, it should be 165v im getting little or no reading on the other pins. only pin 2 is close to right -.6v it should be(-.8v). does anyone have any ideas. Robert


     
    #1 klj2497, Jun 13, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2019

  2. Shockwave

    Shockwave Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,936
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Check R-705. A 47K 2W resistor feeding pin 8. It's probably burned open due to an old shorted tube.
     
  3. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    R705 is reading 54k ohm it should be 47k ohm i have heard that some difference is okay but this looks like a lot
     
  4. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    V600A pin 1 is -55v it should be 240v. V601B pin 1 is .0v it should be 240v. v602 is okay. In the audio tube V603 pin 3 and pin 4 are about 50volts too high from pin 3 355v and pin 4 390v
     
  5. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I put a new 47k ohm 2watt resistor for R705 but no change in the radio still low output low modulation
     
  6. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Do you have access to a tube tester?

    Might be time to find out if a tube is contributing to the problem.

    Or maybe more than one?

    That's where we start with a D201 before we'll plug it in. Check the tubes, clean each socket as a tube is put back in after testing, and clean the controls.

    Don't underestimate how much difference just one tuning slug that's adjusted wrong can make.

    73
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  7. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I replaced all the tubes recently. but i will check them. I have a old tube tester its one that has a green eye a SECO i also have a signal generator voltohmyst wv-77e and a fluke multimeter but no oscilloscope . The manual said the transformers needed to be adjusted when i replace all the tubes. so i did :(
     
  8. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I grounded the s3c wafer 5th connection to short the alc and compression. to test transmit i pushed the mic button and the ground wire clip end that was grounded to the chassis snapped and sparked there are two white/red wires soldered to terminal 5. but im confused because the schematic shows a white/blue wire should be on #5 it is on terminal #9 s3c.
     
    #8 klj2497, Jun 14, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  9. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I am missing a 40uf 450vdc capacitor. the can capacitor only has two 40uf 450vdc caps in it. Two leads are hooked up to one. So, i ordered a 40uf 450v x 40uf 450v x 40uf 450v. can capacitor that should put it back right.
     
  10. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    The 3-section C5 is wired with two sections in parallel, making it a two-section part, 80uf and 40uf.

    We adopted the habit of using a 500-Volt part with two 100 uf sections. The voltage on C5 can spike up to 470 Volts or more when the tubes are cold. Once they warm up and begin to draw B+ current it falls to the 410-Volt range. I'm convinced the 500-Volt part will last longer.

    Back in the day, a 450-Volt multi-section filter would have a "surge" rating above the so-called "working" 450-Volt rating. A look at the B+ on C5 with a 'scope shows a sawtooth-shaped 120-Hz ripple waveform. A DC voltmeter will average out the peaks and valleys of this ripple, riding on the 400-plus Volts DC. If the peak value of that ripple waveform pushes past 450 Volts, that's an unhealthy stress on the capacitor. A DC meter reading is only part of the picture.

    Rather than try to find the right white/blue wire on S3C, finding that wire at B43 on the audio board is safer. Simply pulling that wire from that hole in the pc board will disable modulation limiting. If that's what's cutting your mike audio, pulling that wire would make a difference.

    Too easy to find the wrong lug on S3.

    73
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  11. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks nomadradio lol It is really easy to find the wrong lug on s3 .
     
  12. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I checked the value of the can capacitor in the radio it is a 100uf 500vdc x 100uf 500vdc so it is okay
     
  13. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    it took me a minute but i found the number 43 on the audio board . and the white/blue wire was right next to it.
     
  14. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    I now have three Tram D201. Happy Fathers day to me.
     
  15. klj2497

    klj2497 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    i swapped out one tube at a time starting with v600 then to v700s then to three, four, and five hundred. When i swapped out v602 and turned it on the meter on the tram went all the way to the right side. I went on swapping out and checking then when i swapped out v401, the meter went back to zero. other than that not much improvement.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!