• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Vintage Heathkit IG-1271 function generator troubleshoot and repair

Radio Tech

Radio Operator
Sep 9, 2008
North Carolina
www.gokarters.com
While home today I decided to put a recent flea mall find on the bench and have a go at it.
This is an old heathkit IG-11271 function gen. After a few moments I was able to determine what the fault was, but finding a shorted component can be a choir sometimes. To aid in finding the short I used a 1.5 volt battery as a constant load to trace out the circuit until the problem area was found. Once this was done it was simple to find the bad component.

BTW I am no professional video blogger and this head cold does not help.

Links to pics:
http://gokarters.com/smf/index.php?topic=2486.0

Video:

Reactions: Robb

That was xlnt, RT.
Do some more videos like this when ya can!
Great stuff to learn by.

BTW; you are going to put another tantalum back in that spot - right?
They are used in freq depenent circuits for accuracy and stability - right?
Nice find.

Last edited:
That was xlnt, RT.
Do some more videos like this when ya can!
Great stuff to learn by.

BTW; you are going to put another tantalum back in that spot - right?
They are used in freq depenent circuits for accuracy and stability - right?
Nice find.

Thanks Robb,
Even though I was sick at the time of the video I did enjoy running through it.
You are correct on the tantalum capacitor. Most circuits that are frequency dependent a tantalum is use due to its more stable design.