• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Zero to General in 30 days?

Fishmongerjoe

Nov 5, 2017
Hi all, I have been doing the cb radio hobby since 2004 while trucking. Lost interest for a bit but have recently taken a renewed interest. This time of year is generally slow for me and I’m looking to fill some time.

A local amateur radio club meets every 3rd Thursday of the month and they do testing before the meeting. I’m planning on attending the February test. I’m fairly confident I can pass the tech exam right now. My goal is to walk out of the test facility with a general license (I know I’m not going to actually walk out with it, but you get the point).

I plan on dedicating 1-3 hours a day on learning/reviewing/practice test. I also plan on blogging the whole thing in this thread in hopes that it can, keep me on track, find and additional resources to help future aspiring hams once complete. Oh and I want to do all this with no out of pocket costs except the exam fee.

Wish me luck!

Hi all, I have been doing the cb radio hobby since 2004 while trucking. Lost interest for a bit but have recently taken a renewed interest. This time of year is generally slow for me and I’m looking to fill some time.

A local amateur radio club meets every 3rd Thursday of the month and they do testing before the meeting. I’m planning on attending the February test. I’m fairly confident I can pass the tech exam right now. My goal is to walk out of the test facility with a general license (I know I’m not going to actually walk out with it, but you get the point).