1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

655hp and amps. What’s your thoughts?

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by Jk”killer”, May 11, 2018.

  1. Jk”killer”

    Jk”killer” New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    I’m wanting to put a box behind my 655. I don’t know much about what i need and looking for experienced input.


     

  2. n8fgb

    n8fgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    193
    A box of Chocolates should be nice.
     
    sp5it likes this.
  3. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047
    Likes Received:
    769
    Will this be a mobile or base setup? The simple answer is since you have a higher powered radio you will need an amp that can take that amount of drive. If it's a mobile application you will also have to have an alternator with the capability to feed the amp, radio, and your vehicle. You will also have to do a proper job installing the amp (grounding, soldered connections, a fuse at the battery, and so on) Obviously your antenna system must be in order as well.

    Here are several amplifiers that will work with a Stryker 655 radio. You will still have to adjust the variable power control on your radio to best match up to which ever amp you choose. If you wanted to go with a smaller amp you would have to have your radio de-tuned some so you would not overdrive the smaller amp.

    http://www.xforceamps.com/item/Straight-6Pill---Xtreme-Duty---600HD-M-91

    http://www.xforceamps.com/item/Straight-4Pill---Xtreme-Duty---400HD-M-87

    http://www.xforceamps.com/item/Straight-4Pill---Biased---Xtra-Duty---Hi-Drive---T600HD-163

    http://www.jokermanelectronics.com/texas-star-1600x/
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  4. Ranch55

    Ranch55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    139
    A Texas Star 500V will work fine behind the Stryker SR955 radio and the SR655 radio.
    I use two setups like that. One in a mobil, and one in a base station.
    Set your am deadkey at about 2.5 ~ 3 watts. No more than 4 watts.
    And then let the radio "swing into the TS500. It works fine.
     
    #4 Ranch55, May 11, 2018
    Last edited: May 11, 2018
  5. rabbiporkchop

    rabbiporkchop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    448
    Unless the radio has been rebuilt with
    beta-matched final transistors you're going to need a band pass filter after the radio and before the amplifier.
     
  6. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,649
    I'd run a 3-500z or an 8877 behind it....if mobile a 6 pill. With all the hack job builders trying to maximize profits these days I have no brand recommendation. Definitely put a low pass filter between that thing and any amplifier that's worth money.
     
    rabbiporkchop likes this.
  7. rabbiporkchop

    rabbiporkchop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    448
    That low pass will at least clean up half the problem. Bandpass would be better though.
    1526091115505.png
     
  8. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,649
    Probably would be better to have a band pass filter. The 955 I had was a turd with spurious emission right out of the box. I fixed mine by improving shielding inside the rig but after it was all said and done my old truck has a cobra 29 in it again.
     
  9. Onelasttime

    Onelasttime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    362
    What exactly are you asking about? This is not a carpentry board if you want to learn about boxes and how to build them a carpentry board or forum might be more helpful! This is particular area is for asking questions about RF amplifiers. Asking an intelligent question is not an admission of guilt.

    First thing first decide what transistors you want in the amplifier or tubes if that is how you want to roll. So if you wanted to know about Toshiba 2SC2879's you would google Toshiba 2SC2879 Data Sheet.

    Then once you click on it scroll down to all the graphs. You will them for power in terms of voltage and input drive. Look at see how many watts of input drive it needs to reach saturation at the voltage you intend to use it at. It matters becasue most are between 13.8V and 15V with a nominal of 14.5V once everything is warm and settled down and your at high way speeds. You will select an amp that can accommodate your carrier level with a little extra headroom. If you are using a power supply at home 13.8 if it is a regulated power supply is about the most you can hope for.

    Ideally you really need to have the radio and the amp matched up just to ensure the optimum matching. You want the radio's output power and modulation to remain linear and clean if not it wont matter how much power you put behind it.
     
    rabbiporkchop likes this.
  10. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,649
  11. n8fgb

    n8fgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    193
    I thought he was just looking for an amplifier to use with a 655 horsepower car.
     
  12. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,649
    Good one. I'll have to try that on the qrz next time someone only gives the model number of their radio. A 7300? As in John Deere 7300?
     
    n8fgb likes this.
  13. Jk”killer”

    Jk”killer” New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    I ended up buying a Texas star dx400. I hooked everything up this evening but haven’t tried it out yet. What’s your thoughts on this setup
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  14. Jk”killer”

    Jk”killer” New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    And it’s a mobile setup. 2016 Silverado work truck. After doing a little research I may end up having to add an extra battery to compensate for the extra amps this thing is gonna pull.
     
  15. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    569
    If your wire that you run to the battery is big enough, you won't need a second battery for this amp.
     
    rabbiporkchop likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!