• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Another Galaxy Saturn thread. No V20 adjust. No front RF power knob adjust.

vswr

Aug 20, 2023
I know, I know. Not another galaxy thread. I did try asking through an old thread but got no response. Firstly to minimize redundant comments, I am a radio technician military trained. 22 years service. Lots of know how in repairs and restoring. All adjustments as per service manual done. Everything works with 1 exception. V20 no current adjustment. Transistor, diode, trim pot all disconnected and tested good. Reflowed all solder joints, no shorted caps. Swapped transistors left to right, still not adjustable. Transistors are not fake. I took them from a known good radio. Voltages are good. Bias resistors good.I just don't get it. Been struggling off and on with it between the shelf and bench, taking time outs, etc. I did not recap the radio. There are only 2 electrolytics in the finals area, and a bunch of disc caps. No short in them. There are 2 silver oxide caps to the right of V10. Both are not shorted. From the schematic, all associated parts involved with bias current test good. I just dont get it so Im appealing to you professionals to offer some insight into this problem.

First, I would put that shorting bar back in.
key radio up in LSB/USB mode, no audio into MIC,
and measure the voltage at either side of inductor
L50 to ground and adjust VR20 and it should go up to
.7 volts. it should be around .7 volts at L35 since
the bias works on that transistor when you adjust VR10.

and the bias adjustment usually works on fake transistors,
since they take an audio transistor and remark it as a 2SC1969 or
whatever.

Reactions: Shadetree Mechanic