1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Anytone Smart and a KL203

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by Bow, Feb 11, 2021.

  1. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    So I was playing around with my Anytone Smart CB and an RM Italy KL-203 this evening for a little bit.

    I was researching the worderful world of the internet, and it seems the general thought is the KL-203 is a 100w PEP amp at best, while still being "clean".

    Knowing my Anytone Smart is a pretty foolproof radio; mine is stock, only adjusted for 100% modulation by me with a O'Scope and a 1.50w carrier for driving a KL-60 I had behind it last time I played with it. I have also drilled out the microphone hole in the plastic...

    I decided of would be a good test rig to play with the KL-203.

    Test equipment:
    -Signal generator set a1khz Sine Wave @ 0.03v fed into the rear of the mic circuit board
    -Rigol 100mHz O'scope
    -Diamond sx-600 Watt meter
    -Dummy load
    -Megawatt 30a power Supply set at 13.7v

    The best I could get it to run clean
    Anytone: 1.75w carrier
    KL-203: 22w carrier
    50w PEP

    Anything more the that, the positive peaks started to flat top.

    I realize the Diamond Watt meter isn't a true, accurate PEP measuring Watt meter, but I thought it was interesting I couldn't get anymore out of it....

    Doesn't that seem a bit low, or is it my curse of wanting to run clean and setting radios up with an O'scope and not being a meter Swing junky...

    Either way, the Anytone sounds really good on FM, I was using a Stryker SR-655 with a full range external stereo speaker...

    I was just curious what you all think of my findings....


     

  2. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,953
    Likes Received:
    5,606
    I used to set my modulation and mic gain by listening to a monitor radio with no antenna and headphones. Then I got a scope, and I was able to see what I was doing. What I found is that there is a little leeway as the modulation is turned up, it will start to look bad on the scope but will still sound good. I would be interested to see if you would get the same results. I always set it up using my voice talking normally. The monitor radio will help you find the correct distance to hold the mic too. I always do a quick check on the monitor when I power up, along with an SWR and power check.
    Chris
     
  3. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    Thanks Shadetree,

    I can understand that, but I like to see what its doing, and if I see Flat lines or Flat Tops, I'll back it down.

    BTW, that Anytone will pass Audio Freqs down to 100Hz. It loses a good bit of Modulation on AM that low, but FM passes it like a champ...
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  4. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,953
    Likes Received:
    5,606
    I agree, I don't like box cars either. I haven't tried FM mode on my smart, I am going to check that out.
     
  5. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    Let me know what you think of the FM...

    By the way, the audio gets better on these radios when you bore that little mic hole out to about 1/4"
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  6. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11,399
    Likes Received:
    3,402
    Bow:
    Nothing wrong with a SX-100 meter at all.
    Like most meters, within 10% IIRC.
    What size dummy load/watts?
    Do you have a RF sampler?
    No? Build one - it's simple and needed.
     
  7. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    I actually use an old MFJ-267 "1500 Watt" dummy load, the one with the Cross needle meter.

    I drilled and mounted a BNC on the back and ran a "rf smapler" pickup wire down the length of the resister. then run that straight to the O'Scope
     
    WECSOG, Slowmover and Robb like this.
  8. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    So this is basically what I did:

    Removed the Antenna/Dummy Load Switch
    Hard wired the input lead to the load. Thayt gives me a 1.0-1.1 SWR.

    I used the old Output SO-239 and soldered a 12g wire to the center pin, then paralleled the wire to the load resistor, under the heat shield, the entire length of the resistor.
    Then use a PL-239 to BNC adapter on the old Output to the O'scope

    IMG_20210211_203105268.jpg

    However, looking at the rear circuit boated, there is a torriod already there for the SWR function of the meter in the front. I might be able to tap that coil connection points on the board to feed the scope.
    IMG_20210211_203145050.jpg
    It would be nice to come IP with something a little more "calibrated" to feed the O'scope to use it more for accurate measurements instead if just a visual reference

    Unfortunately, the meters on the front are pretty worthless, I can get them to zero out anymore, nor can I find a reference to calibrate this MFJ-267 circuit....
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  9. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    So using my current "Parallel Pickup Wire" setup, I get O'scope readings like this with the Anytone and KL-203

    Carrier:
    IMG_20210211_210035723.jpg
    Modulated:
    IMG_20210211_210716074_MP.jpg

    IMG_20210211_211351950_MP.jpg
    Great for a visual reference, but not good for making true measurements.... because with the proper O'Scope feed and a littkle math, you can figure out the true output Watts...
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  10. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    On a side note...

    Using the adjustment screws on the front of the meter, I was able to "0" both needles on the meter

    Using the variable cap on the circuit board in the back, I was able to match the SWR that my Diamond SX-600 was showing.
    IMG_20210211_220413518.jpg
    And by tweaking R120 on the front board, I was able to match the power reading shown on the SX-600.
    IMG_20210211_220422232.jpg
    So when modulating as shown in the previous post, both meters displayed:
    20 W Carrier
    50 W Modulated
    With the SX-600 in PEP mode, it still showed 50w, but the MFJ-267 settled out around 100w PEP...

    Is it accurate?

    Definite Maybe...

    But I gots some SWING!

    Yeah buddy!

    Now to figure out what the other 3 pots on the front board do...

    Oh, and I added a small cooling fan, because I had one
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  11. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    On an interesting note.... I have found some calibration procedures for the MFJ-267 on a Japanese Ham Site : https://www.qsl.net/jg7amd/equip/eqacc.html

    MFJ-267 - Dummy Load

    1. Remove cover from mfj-267.(カバーは外さなくてOKです、)
    2. Set switch on back of mfj-267 to antenna position.
    3. Set high/low power switch to Low (out).
    4. Set output to 100 Watts on bird meter.
    5. Adjust R120(F-LOW) so that mfj-267 reads 100 Watts.
    6. Set high/low power switch to High (in).
    7. Set output to 500 Watts on bird meter.
    8. Adjust R110(F-HIGH) so that meter on the mfj-267 reads 50 Watts. When in the high power position, all readings on the meter scales are multiplied by 10 so this is actually 500 Watts.
    9. Unkey transmitter.
    10. Reverse the coax connections on the 267, by connecting the line from the wattmeter to the antenna connection, and the line from the dummy load to the input connection.
    11. Set the high/low power switch to High (in).
    12. Set output power to 200 Watts on the bird meter.
    13. Adjust R103(R-HIGH) so that the reflected meter on the 267 reads 20 Watts. When in the high power position, all readings on the meter scales are multiplied by 10, so this is actually 200 Watts.
    14. Unkey transmitter.
    15. Set high/low power switch to Low (out).
    16. Set output power to 20 Watts.
    17. Adjust R119(R-LOW) so that the reflected meter on the 267 reads 20 Watts.
    18. Unkey transmitter.
    19. Return all gear to normal operating conditions.

    Then I found this pdf at mods.dk

    So I might try to calibrate it tonight...

    I really am fighting the urge to drop the coin for an LP-100A...
     

    Attached Files:

    #11 Bow, Feb 12, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2021
    Slowmover and Shadetree Mechanic like this.
  12. Dmans

    Dmans Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Bow,
    Re: RF Sampler.

    I built one of these (see attachment). I think I have about $5.00 in the whole thing with quite a few items scrounged from my junk box. I did buy a 1 foot piece of RG-402 (cost-$7.00) and used about 1.5 inches of it.

    It looks kind of crude but works very well on the Spectrum analyzer and scope. It does provide a measured 50db coupling factor. Pictures to follow.

    73
    David
     

    Attached Files:

    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  13. Dmans

    Dmans Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Pictures of the crude looking 50db sampler. DE3A0195-961F-409A-910D-139F81DECE54.jpeg 7ABB07D1-5609-498D-B061-EEDA2BDC94CC.jpeg 66B4B875-02A1-4ABB-B6DB-A35DBECDC77C.jpeg 1CE85E49-25B1-4D54-9779-8E5E8A55F609.jpeg

    The last picture is of the leftover RG-402. This is serious HARD line. The outer jacket is the braid and is a copper tube.

    73
    David
     

    Attached Files:

    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  14. Dmans

    Dmans Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    I meant to include this pic. The generator was sweeping 20-30Mhz. The solid line is from the sampler output.
    84A5F33A-AE63-4455-8972-B9FCBA1D340E.jpeg

    73
    David
     
    Bow and Shadetree Mechanic like this.
  15. Bow

    Bow Bastard Modulation Engineering

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    280
    Thanks,

    but what does the circuit look like?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!