1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

are new A99's all a pos?

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by Rwb, Aug 5, 2021.

  1. Rwb

    Rwb Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    3,522
    prolly stuck with it.prolly end up in pieces in the junk/burn pile where it will polute the friendly liberal skys


     
    NZ8N and TheRealPorkchop like this.

  2. Rick330man

    Rick330man WDX 404

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    791
    What does 102" have to do with an A99? I've had 3 A99s over the years and each was made of 3 sections just under 6' (72) each.

    It sounds like there are some quality control issues behind the newer ones. If anyone can elaborate on that, I'd appreciate hearing about it.

    Thanks.
     
    Rwb likes this.
  3. sp5it

    sp5it Master of puppets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    2,220
    Length have nothing to do if you can't go lower than 1.5 anywhere.
    Changing antenna length will shift lowest SWR point up or down, but won't decrease it at it's minimum.
    Take that antenna, put it on wooden pole, make choke balun from coax below feedpoint and measure. No other objects at least in 11m radius.
    Mike
     
  4. Handy Andy

    Handy Andy Do Your Research First, Then Decide...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    6,810
    Good point @sp5it
    Including the operator...

    It's that near field - of the Far-Field - proximity effect - sort of thing...

    upload_2021-8-9_6-51-26.png
     
    #19 Handy Andy, Aug 8, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2021
    NZ8N, secret squirrel and Rwb like this.
  5. TheRealPorkchop

    TheRealPorkchop Certified Sith Pimp

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2,812
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    Replacing the top section with a cut-down 102” whip, that is what I was referring to. Ice will break that tiny fiberglass end section, had it happen before so I replaced it with a cut down 102.

    And to go against the grain here, I did achieve a “correct” SWR by trimming that tip. However, my A99 didn’t have a tuning issue to start with, I mentioned it only as a “try it for the lulz”.
     
    NZ8N, secret squirrel and Rwb like this.
  6. Rwb

    Rwb Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    3,522
    it 1 of those pos items that after some wasted effort its toss n get something else. i usually can achive low swr in installs but this turkey is not cooperating.a friend about 35 miles from me had same thing happen.he got another a 99 n same crap as mine. im thinkin qc issues
     
    secret squirrel likes this.
  7. Rick330man

    Rick330man WDX 404

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    791
    Ice on an antenna has not been an issue down here in the last 12,000 years - except for those guys who store their A99s in a freezer..
     
  8. Big Kahuna

    Big Kahuna Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1,943
    Is the new antenna actually shorter than the old antenna? If it's the same length than that isn't the issue. Do you have an antenna analyzer?

    As Sp5it mentioned if you can't get a good SWR reading up or down from the CB band than the issue may be something else.

    For example - the issue with the shorter Imax antennas - we all were seeing lower SWR above the CB band and could get a 1.1 or lower at higher frequencies.

    I'd suggest picking up a Nano VNA - super cheap and an amazing device. The graphs will tell you right away what is going on in many cases.

    Also will point out as I did on the Imax 2000 thread - 1.5 is still fine for most people unless you're running large amounts of power or have equipment that can't handle that SWR.

    Since lightning killed the old antenna have you checked the rest of your system? Did you get new coax? Did you replace any switch boxes, connectors, etc.?
     
    #23 Big Kahuna, Aug 13, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2021
    r carl, The DB, Rwb and 2 others like this.
  9. Rwb

    Rwb Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    3,522
    all new coax. no switches.friend got hit same time as me got another a 99 as we both were happy with our old a 99's but his matches mine now n we both are thinkin junk junk junk
     
    secret squirrel likes this.
  10. secret squirrel

    secret squirrel Lustrous Potentate

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    973
    Has anyone tried the Procomm PT99, the 4 piece antenna.
     
    Low_Boy and Rwb like this.
  11. Rwb

    Rwb Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    3,522
    i got another stick in mind
     
  12. Oatmeal

    Oatmeal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    77
    A friend of mine he runs a A99, and says it works well 10-17m bands without using a tuner on it.....

    I have one of the old Imax 2000 fiberglass antennas, and it does about the samething as the A99, but I had cut 6" off the top trying to use it on 20m band, but that didn't happen, so swr on 11m is flat now and is low 10-17m bands...both these antennas do well on 10-17m bands..
     
    Rwb likes this.
  13. Eldorado828

    Eldorado828 8-2-8 in the Lonestar State

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    2,715
    I used the proton pt99 somewhere around 2006 or 07, it tuned and worked but was replaced by an aluminum antenna. I do remember it was only up less than a year and when taken down the fiberglass was extremely dilapidated. But.... it tuned and worked.
     
    Rwb likes this.
  14. Oatmeal

    Oatmeal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    77
    My Imax, I took it down a few weeks ago to move it and noticed the fiberglass had cracks in it its seen a rough life here but has lasted 10 years or so....replaced it with a dipole...
     
    Rwb likes this.
  15. Rick330man

    Rick330man WDX 404

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    791
    No more UV cracked fiberglass antennas:

    Decades ago, I took to wrapping fiberglass antennas in plastic automotive wiring loom. In essence, you are sacrificing the loom to the UV rays that otherwise would be killing your antenna. You invest a few extra bucks but your fiberglass antennas will then last forever. My fiberglass Radio Shack Crossbow 1/2 wave base station antenna lasted almost forty years. The 102" Radio Shack fiberglass whip on my current Starduster style antenna is about 30 years old...and my A99 and Solarcon 2000 are old enough to come from eras where tuning issues were not a problem.
     
    Oatmeal, Handy Andy and Rwb like this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!