1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Bed Mount, but where?

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by CyberRider, Aug 21, 2018.

1. CyberRider

CyberRider Member

Hi - I got a 94 Toyota 4x4 and I've decided that I want to mount my new 5' Firestik on the bedrail somewhere. For sake of best send/receive where on the bedrail should I mount it?

Oh, and I'm new to this WHOLE cb thing. Bought radio but haven't installed it yet. Never had a cb before at all.

2. Shadetree Mechanic

Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

Welcome to WWDX, for best send and receive it would need to be in the center of the roof. If you must do bed rail then the back corner by the tailgate would be the spot. Unfortunately where most people put them is not the best place.
    Chris

The DB likes this.
  3. Tallman

Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

Firstly, what type of antenna do you have? I am a fan of magmounts.
    [​IMG]

This on the roof of my S-10 Turbo 4.3 Vortec and it will never blow over.

Dmans likes this.
  4. CyberRider

CyberRider Member

5' fiberglass Firestik II

5. Handy Andy

Handy Andy Do Your Research First, Then Decide...

Mounting on the bedrail is .... well .... ok - I guess.

Where? You did ask, and unfortunately - on the Bedrail - no "real good location" can exist.

Can you invest into a headache rack? At least you'd have height...?

6. CyberRider

CyberRider Member

Bed rail. I have a rollbar/light bar installed. I would consider that also I guess. Here's my truck:

truck_bed_4ab6a4be8ca79d35f3fc6cbed2dae29b9f98bdb7.jpg

7. Tallman

On the light bar between the lights.

Dmans, jessejamesdallas and 357magnum like this.
  8. CyberRider

CyberRider Member

OK, I may be willing. But which mount will work for that?

9. Handy Andy