• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

FCC ULS Database Privacy?

boomerbill

Sep 6, 2010
I am a newly licensed Technician class. My new call sign appeared in the ULS database just today - along with my home address.

Is there any way I can opt NOT to have my home address listed with my license info? For reasons of personal security and privacy, I would prefer not to have my actual home address accessible to anyone who hears my call sign.

Call me Mr. Paranoid.

You can get a PO Box and use it as your mailing address, but why? I've had my home address (and before that, my folks' address) in call books, etc. for the last 51 years.

As an FCC licensee, your mailing address, whether the street address or the PO Box number, is in the public domain, like it or not.

Ok guys, I'll get over it then.

I just don't like my home address quite so readily available. I wish I'd known when filling out the license paperwork that the address was published. I do have a P.O. box and would have used that.

I checked on the FCC site regarding change of address. Hell, it's more complicated than passing the license exam :eek:

So I guess when I'm mobile, I'll try to remember not to say I'm on vacation out of state for two weeks and then give my call sign......

You can UPDATE your information with them and substitute your PO Box as the new address. This is the same procedure as if you moved. When moving or changing address, you're supposed to do this within 30 days anyway. So just look for the form for submitting an update....should be able to do this online at the FCC ULS site, and UPDATE your license.

Thanks Wire Weasel. I think I'm jumping-the-gun here.