• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

HT or Mobile for Newbie's first radio

Need2Know

KK4GMU - Ocala, FL
Jan 26, 2012
Ocala, FL
www.muccings.blogspot.com
OK. Here is a twist on a similar question I posted earlier.

I'm a 60 something newbie who just got my tech license. I'm interested in APRS, EchoLink, other computer interfacing possibilities, and possible ARES and emergency/public service uses. The radio would be used 98% of the time from home. So, whatever radio I get, it would be used mostly as a base - or so my limited involvement in the hobby leads me to believe.

I was originally briefly considering a basic HT like the Wouxun for $100. Then I looked into the features of the Kenwood TH-D72A that seemed to match my interests. About $460, plus antenna and extra batteries and cable.

Then I was APRS'ing from my computer with a guy who could be called a "professional" amateur - he has taught license classes most of his adult life. He suggests that I would get a bigger bang for my buck if I put that $500 into a mobile unit like the Kenwood TM-D710. It has all the features of the HT (minus the GPS built in) PLUS 50 watts instead of 5, better audio output, much more complete receive range, and the panel display is more visible than the HT. I'm sure I missed some worthwhile comparisons. So, in essence for $170 more ($50 more for the mobile and $120 for the Kenwood power supply) I would be getting a more substantial unit.

He suggested while it is not a carry about, for $60 I could get a basic Chinese handheld to send signal to the mobile if I determined I truly needed a walk-about.

Quick, somebody stop me before I work myself up to a Yaesu FTdx9000. (just kidding).