1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Base IMAX 2000

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by undertaker, Jul 11, 2018 at 3:54 PM.

  1. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    508
    If I mount this antenna by a tree will it hurt the performance?


     
    357magnum likes this.

  2. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,690
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    In the clear is always best but many of us have limitations where are antennas are.

    Consider this, Many of us use trees to hang dipole antennas from.
     
    BJ radionut likes this.
  3. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    508
    Thank you very much...
     
    357magnum likes this.
  4. 357magnum

    357magnum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    140
    Undertaker , I'm sure you have posts on here that tree's don't make a difference , I thought the same . Recently I had 8 huge oak trees taken down ( My XYL's deal ) . Wow what I difference my receive on my A-99 has improved almost 100 percent
    and my output I get compliments on . Local Op's think I'm running my new amp I'm not ! Just my barefoot Cobra 2K , I save the amp for " Good " Dx . JMO
     
  5. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    508
    This will be my second base antenna how far away does it need to be from my siri tornado?
     
    357magnum likes this.
  6. OldTech03

    OldTech03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    151
    I can't say how much it would affect the performance you would have to mount the antenna 30 or 40 feet away and then have a way to test the idea with another station far enough out to give you a result that you can say is based on it being real close to the tree and 30 ft away from the tree. But if you mount it to close to the tree you could give the tree brain cancer? Sorry, could not resist a little humor.
     
    357magnum, Dmans and undertaker like this.
  7. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,690
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    I would do at least 37 ft minimum
     
  8. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    508
    What about 34 ft?
     
    357magnum likes this.
  9. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,690
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Even a couple of wavelengths apart can still cause some interaction. 1 wavelength should be fine.

    Why 2 verticals?
     
  10. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    508
    Don't have money for a tower or a beam...
     
    357magnum likes this.
  11. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,690
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    You'd be better off running 2 of the same brand/type antennas and phasing them. They can be phased to run like beam.

    Do some research on vertical antenna phasing and see what works best for you.
     
  12. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    508
    Thanks...
     
  13. 357magnum

    357magnum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    140
    Undertaker , I just checked Sirio 27-4 beam is @ $150 . I paid less than that over a year ago , but mine is still in the box because of no help to put it up . I had the rotor and box already and the eave mounts are on my house from an old Tv antenna . I'm not going that high because of my elevation ( 30' to my peak of roof ) but a little more $'s you could be Sweet ! Someday I'll find out !:LOL: Jmo 73 and God Bless , Leo
     
    undertaker likes this.
  14. 357magnum

    357magnum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    140
    Actually I just checked again ( It's $159 ) it comes from DNR and you get Free Shipping if you buy it through Walmart .
     
  15. M0GVZ

    M0GVZ Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    708
    No you won't hurt it mounting it near a tree. Whilst trees block VHF and UHF they're effectively invisible to RF.
     
    wavrider and Shadetree Mechanic like this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!