• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

New Ham Here

Hurricane95

Oct 28, 2015
Waterloo, IA
Hey all,

I am brand new to amature radio, having just passed my Tech exam. I'm hoping I can get some opinions/answers on a question I have.

I don't yet have a proper multi-band HF radio, still waiting for that sweet deal on an Icom 7000. The question I have is: are the RCI 2950/2970 an ok radio to start out on 10M?

I suspect the sidebands are quite a bit narrower and not centered like a real HF radio, but essentially will it work on 28.3-28.5 for USB voice? Will my TX sound bad or hard to tune?? How is the receive?

Do you run power or right out of the box?

After researching the real HF radios, I'm suspecting I may be better off waiting to get one, but I do have an old 2950 on hand and I'm getting kind of anxious to call my first CQ.

Thanks for any and all advice and input!

The old 2950 you have if not all peaked and tweaked out, should work on 10m just fine. As long as the antenna is setup for 10m, and radio works correctly, you should be just fine. Just keep the roger beep off and have at it! There is an article where this exact question is answered and as long as the radio is stock and not butchered up, use it. Here is the actual readings from the page.

By FCC rules, you, as a licensed ham radio operator, are allowed to use most any type of radio transmitter under your license class restrictions as long as it meets the rules and regulations of Part 97 which you fall under.