1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Pickup truck mounting

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by BammBamm, Nov 25, 2017.

  1. JoeDirt

    JoeDirt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    143
    I wish it was easy to model a vehicle. I have done some testing with a friend. My puck mount preformed as good as a mag mount with a counterpoise..... Im starting to believe antennas being 6' off the ground really dont make much difference in mounting. I have also done blind antenna testing (on a hilltop) switching multiple antennas many times. The winner...... A 5' Firestik....lol I give up what ever tunes works for me!!!


     
    AudioShockwav, CB590, hotrod and 2 others like this.

  2. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    205
    just having a great swr dont mean much. even a dummyload has a great swr. but transmits very little
     
    rabbiporkchop likes this.
  3. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    182
    This is current setup..triple mag mount.
     

    Attached Files:

    K20 and undertaker like this.
  4. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    182
    Another pic
     

    Attached Files:

  5. codeman

    codeman Recovering Crackerhead

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    191
    I am having good luck with a 5' firestik ii mounted on the back of my toolbox. I had a base station 55 miles away say I was hitting him at with 7 pounds on sideband. This was using my Magnum 45hp. Had another one 40 miles away that said I was hitting his station well. This is from the city to the guys in the countryside with their base stations.
     
    hotrod likes this.
  6. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    205
    yes those antennas do well. for all they are. they do have thier limits though.
    low power handling , very narrowed banded. two that i noticed but they do work well and inexpensive
     
  7. CB590

    CB590 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    420
    I have the 5' Firestik II also on the passenger rear corner of my bed with a Firestik 3/8 mount (adjustable). That gets gets me a 1-1 and 1-1.2 across channels.. I've talked skip to TX and FL when moving.. it's a little directional but that's ok with me.
     
    hotrod likes this.
  8. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    205
    im currently using a sirio pl 5000 mag mount on the roof. seems to work ok
     
  9. Alan Blackmon

    Alan Blackmon Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    61
    I am using a 5 foot firstick II on ladder rack on drivers side just behind the cab. Signal favors passenger side a bit. Did talk skip on SSB from Crater Lake area in Oregon to Florida using stock output of Bearcat 980 while on a road trip. Normal distance is around 6miles give or take. Works good for me.
     
  10. GTA61

    GTA61 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    38
    My '14 RAM is gonna get the roof hole as soon as I find (or fab) some kind of reinforcement for the inside. That roof is like a cheesy pie tin.

    Anybody else do a roof mount on a RAM?
     
  11. loosecannon

    loosecannon Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    just do what everyone else does and use an old skilsaw blade.
    you just have to enlarge the center hole a bit.

    also, if you are planning to use an amplifier in it, be sure to hook everything up temporarily and check to see if the amp messes with the engine's computer.
    chryslers are notorious for this.
    LC
     
  12. Blackcat630

    Blackcat630 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    562
    I don't know what antenna you're planning on running but might I suggest a quality mount. Something with a decent backing plate. On my 97 ram I used a standard so239 roof mount with a big washer on the underside to distribute the load a little better. No regrets but if I were to do it all over again I would have probably went with something from breedlove. https://www.breedlovemounts.com/home.html
     
  13. GTA61

    GTA61 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    38
    I'll bust out the hammer drill right thru the headliner

    Wilson 2000 probably

    I was thinking maybe a separate battery for the hookup. Idk


    Thanks for that!
    That SO 239 mount is mine.
     
  14. TheRealPorkchop

    TheRealPorkchop Certified Sith Pimp

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    2,184
    I’ll second the saw blade, they make some of the best backing plates you can ask for. The larger your backing plate, the better you’ll be in the long run. You put a very big antenna up there without sufficient backing and you’ll split your roof.

    I hope you’re joking on the hammer drill through the headliner.

    I’m not well versed in Chrysler so I can’t exactly speak as to what an amp could do to the ECM. But I believe if you have proper grounding and bonding then it won’t matter. The walkie-talkie bandit around here has a Ram truck with a black Al Capone on it and a massive amp. I always see him rollin’ so I don’t believe it’s messing with his electronics. And I know he bonds everything, so it’s just a suggestion...
     
    GTA61 likes this.
  15. TheRealPorkchop

    TheRealPorkchop Certified Sith Pimp

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    2,184
    Oh, meant to say... in my dump truck which is an 04 model with a Mercedes Benz engine, I ran 2500w in it without issue. Well, after grouding and bonding that is. Before I bonded it, I could light up every light in the entire truck. I activated my door locks like humming bird wings...for a few seconds and then they burned out. Haven’t had power door locks in years now.

    It was pretty cool at the time though. I miss my door locks now though.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!