1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Running wires thru firewall 2017 f150

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by undertaker, May 14, 2018.

  1. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    653
    Ok guys going to install my quad 5 this week. just need some advice on how to get the wires from the battery thru the firewall...

    Thanks in advance..


     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.

  2. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    Usually what I do is go through the same grommet that the hood latch cable goes through. Straighten out a section of coat hanger and make a small hook on the end and smash it closed. Now pry it open enough to hook the end of the wires. Strip about 4 inches off the wires and put them in the hook and smash the hook flat. Carefully pierce the grommet from the inside pointing slightly upward and push it in a few inches. Look under the hood to see where it is going and carefully pull it through. Fuse the positive at the battery. What size wire are you going to run? I would run 12 awg if you have it.
     
    undertaker likes this.
  3. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    I would also go to the relay fuse box under the hood instead of the battery terminal. The battery itself is bad as far as corrosion goes. Small wires won't last long. The relay fuse box has a big stud where the power comes in from the battery. This is where I connect. The ground I use is the body ground stud that connects to the battery. Hope this helps.
     
    Tallman and undertaker like this.
  4. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    653
    Thank you very much....
     
  5. DainBramage

    DainBramage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    166
    I normally use the hot lead on the starter motor stud.
     
    Tallman and rabbiporkchop like this.
  6. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10,817
    Likes Received:
    2,474
    Grommets!
    Or you'd be asking for a fire.
     
  7. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    On the starter motor itself?
     
  8. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    The hood latch cable has a rubber boot to poke through.
     
  9. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    No problem. Don't forget to put a fuse at the positive connection under the hood.
     
  10. n8fgb

    n8fgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    193
    A 5 element quad on a F150 pickup. Gotta see that one.
     
  11. sunbulls

    sunbulls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    203
    I use a coat hanger, but a slightly different method. I solder the wire directly to a straight coat hanger instead of using a hook. After the wire is soldered to the hanger I deburr or shape the connection with my Dremel. It's a little extra work, but allows for a much easier passage through the grommet without the possibility of losing my connection.
     
  12. AndrewGS

    AndrewGS Sandbagger

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    43
    Dude, no need to go through the firewall. I went through a rubber plug under the driver's floorboard for both power and feedline on my '16 F150. I also went straight to the battery and have had zero corrosion. I'm actually about to redo mine with 8GA for my Galaxy.

    IMG_0686.jpg
    IMG_0691.jpg
    IMG_0687.jpg
    IMG_0697.jpg
    IMG_0701.jpg
     
    rabbiporkchop and undertaker like this.
  13. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    The floor plug will work if you want to pull up the carpet I guess. The hood latch boot is easy and nothing has to be taken apart to get to it. This was the spot we used when I worked for Bell Atlantic installing car phones. What ever is easiest will work as long as the wire can be routed safely away from sharp or moving or hot items. If I need to run bigger wires, I will use the blanking plate where the clutch mechanism would have been. I don't think many new vehicles have a standard trans option now days so this may not work. For car stereo installations that sometimes require multiple runs of 2/0 cable, drilling holes in the firewall is unavoidable. With any drilled hole it of course needs a grommet.
    Chris
     
    hotrod likes this.
  14. AndrewGS

    AndrewGS Sandbagger

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    43
    The carpet folds up with the removal of two trim pieces that snap out. I just like that spot because it's an easy spot to access and doesn't interfere with anything on the firewall.
     
  15. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    556
    Your terminals might be ok as far as corrosion goes if the connection is far enough away from the battery post. I would definitely not use the bolt that is used to tighten the terminal to the post. I have done this and it looks good for a long time, but the crimp connector metal is thin. When it was time to replace my battery, I could see that the ring terminals looked like they were about to break so I moved the connections.
    Chris
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!