1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Server Power Supply Conversion Cheap

Discussion in 'General Ham Radio Discussion' started by Happy_Hamer, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
    So I seen on another site a guy selling a Server Power Supply converted for radio. He is getting $60, not bad for a 47 amp power supply.

    With a little help from Google;



    You guys want an affordable 12.5V 47A capable power supply to power your radio?

    The model number is power supply in question is 321632-001, DPS-600PB HP 575W Power Supply Proliant DL380 G4. All over eBay CHEAP!

    All you need to do for the PSU to "Turn on", is short 3 connectors. Basically two hot wires to ground. No load resistor is needed.
    When you look at the back of the PSU, you'll find 4 blade plugs. The two on the left are ground and the other two on the right positive. In between the blade plugs, you'll find a set of 12 pin connectors. You'll see a pin that is shorter than the rest, which I call pin 6.

    1 2 3
    4 5 6<---short pin
    7 8 9
    10 11 12

    Connect 6 and 10 to 8(ground). Note that the PSU fan will turn on when you connect it to the AC line. The fan will speed up, once you short the 3 pins together. I opted for plugs to the pins, but you can use a switch instead.

    Solder your power wires to the blade pins and have fun

    I "borrowed" images from the articles as people became more creative wth the power leads or connections
     

    Attached Files:

    • ps1.jpg
      ps1.jpg
      File size:
      102.3 KB
      Views:
      3,408
    • ps2.jpg
      ps2.jpg
      File size:
      112.4 KB
      Views:
      1,002
    • ps3.jpg
      ps3.jpg
      File size:
      50.5 KB
      Views:
      949
    • ps4.jpg
      ps4.jpg
      File size:
      48.2 KB
      Views:
      962
    • ps5.jpg
      ps5.jpg
      File size:
      119.4 KB
      Views:
      991
    • ps6.jpg
      ps6.jpg
      File size:
      120.9 KB
      Views:
      1,924
    • ps7.jpg
      ps7.jpg
      File size:
      41.9 KB
      Views:
      1,065
    • ps8.jpg
      ps8.jpg
      File size:
      58.5 KB
      Views:
      1,031

  2. eagle1911

    eagle1911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    13
    GREAT post. I've got a few server supplies at home right now.. they work great! You won't find many cheaper sources of clean amperage.. server supplies are specifically designed for extreme regulation and very high reliability.
     
  3. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
    few more pics
     

    Attached Files:

    • ps9.jpg
      ps9.jpg
      File size:
      68.6 KB
      Views:
      623
    • ps10.jpg
      ps10.jpg
      File size:
      78.7 KB
      Views:
      3,354
    1 person likes this.
  4. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
    There is also a guy who figured out how to increase the voltage. 13.6 volts the power supply would shut down, so he found out how to get 13.2 volts

    He did a few different mods so I will post them all and you decide what works for you.

    Little update on boosting the output for those interested. I ended up using a couple of resistors to make the voltage divider instead of a diode; a 210 ohm and 20 ohm. This gets me ~13.2v. I was able to get to 13.6v, but the supply sometimes wouldn't turn on or stay on. 13.5v worked fine, but I brought it down to 13.2v just for a little extra wiggle room.


    First, the stock power daughter board. There is a blue and purple wire which I cut. One is a 5v line, the other is a -12v line.

    Then, I cut away where the 5v and -12v lines were to make room to run the wires for the voltage booster resistors. I soldered pins 6 and 10 directly to ground to turn the PS on. Even when these aren't connected, the PS is on somewhat so I figured I'd just hardwire them and use the mains plug as a power switch. I then soldered wires to a ground point, +12v point, and to pin 5 (v adjust pin).

    On the other side of the daughter board, I attached those three wires to the resistors and hotglued the resistor pack to the PCB. I did have to remove the bolt lug from the case so the resistors would fit.

    Here is a simple schematic to show how to arrange the resistors. The power ratings of the resistors, especially the 210 ohm one, should be 2w or more.

    As you can see, I soldered the binding posts directly to the blade plugs. The soldering job is good, it just looks crappy because as I soldered one side, it would drip down. Since the pins themselves weren't being used, I ground them all down.

    Here is another pic showing what I know of the pins:
     

    Attached Files:

    • ps11.jpg
      ps11.jpg
      File size:
      163.2 KB
      Views:
      793
    • ps12.jpg
      ps12.jpg
      File size:
      169.1 KB
      Views:
      1,958
    • ps13.jpg
      ps13.jpg
      File size:
      159.8 KB
      Views:
      2,131
    • ps14.jpg
      ps14.jpg
      File size:
      11 KB
      Views:
      1,088
    • ps15.jpg
      ps15.jpg
      File size:
      204.7 KB
      Views:
      794
  5. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
    Continued on,,,,,,,,

    Another little update for this little PS unit.

    I got another one of these and was doing my voltage boost mod when I accidentally discovered the ground connection for the sense/feedback circuit is not even needed. After doing some more playing around, a 1.5k ohm resistor between the main 12v terminal and pin 5 is all that is needed to boost the output to 13.2v.

    BTW, the max voltage you can get out of this is around 13.5v. At 13.6v, the PS shuts down.

    Also, for those that think the fan is a bit loud on 12v: If you run this PS at 25A or more for extended periods (>1/2 hour), the air coming out the back is pretty toasty. I figure even if this unit is 90% efficient, 35A @ 13.2v is 528w which will produce 53w of heat. That's quite a bit, so if you do turn down the fan, I wouldn't go too far.
     
  6. office888

    office888 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    How's the RF hash?
     
  7. TonyV225

    TonyV225 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,824
    Likes Received:
    290
    Thats what I am wondering also. :unsure:;)
     
  8. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
    According to those who use it on ham radio it is clean, no noise, heck, for $25 ish dollars it's worth a try
     
  9. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
  10. office888

    office888 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    I shall remain skeptic but for the price, they seem like an excellent investment.
     
  11. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    138
    Well if anyone makes one, post the pictures here of your project
     
  12. ElectronTubesRule

    ElectronTubesRule Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    13
    I use a Samlex 1235 you can read a review by a very competent Ham that put it through a battery of tests here. http://www.radiodan.com/pdf/SEC1235M_Review.pdf

    I bought mine a little more then 5 years ago for $89 shipped to my home. Mine does not have the meter's though. It is super quite never have I had noise with it at all that was picked up on receive or transmit and I know a lot of guys I turned on to it all those years ago that use it to power various amateur gear from HF to 2m gear.

    The price has gone up a lot over the last 5 years but I know for a fact it is quite and runs like a Timex......It is tiny and is very quite. If they still sell the model with out the meter's it is more compact and disappears in a shelf or table top much easier. I have never been one for meter's on my power supplies they really do not tell you anything you need to know that you cannot learn with a multi-meter should you need the info.
     
  13. Jacob Goakes

    Jacob Goakes New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need serious help i bought a bunch of these power supplys but i cant figure out how to turn them on can any one help the pin outs are in the picture
     

    Attached Files:

  14. MicroWave

    MicroWave Survivalist

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    19
    These power supplies are not suitable for HAM radio. At best, they can be used for mobile CB radios in stationary mode. Even in a modified state, these devices can't deliver more than 13.5 VDC and that would not be enough for the full output power.

    I am not familiar with the product, but I would first check which pins are connected to ground and then check all pins for their respective voltage. In my understanding, 1S should be connected to one of these grounded pins together with another one to turn it on.
     
    #14 MicroWave, Jul 21, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2018
  15. 711

    711 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    47
    D751AAB3-46CF-46E5-9F16-B4E965B09BC5.jpeg A432C948-EF40-4DDF-97CF-7248E75D37EE.jpeg 66721EEB-4F10-4247-A238-2D3C4479DA83.jpeg F8DD2B3E-EC89-4DC8-A224-7393512C2C19.jpeg 288C0F95-D830-42CC-A989-C8E33285DF16.jpeg Dell server , current shunt is only a 100 amp and I don’t have anything bigger but for under $100 I can’t complain
     

    Attached Files:

    KD2GOE likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!