1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Texas Star 500V vs Davemade 4 Pill

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by weatherman, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. weatherman

    weatherman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    OK, I have a Ranger 2970N2 that I got new and had it turned down to a 5 watt deadkey for the Texas Star that I have and have not put inline yet. Got to scratching my head and was wondering with all the swing the 2970 has, will the Texas Star last? Should I go with a Davemade 4 pill(not for sideband)? Will the 500 last on sideband? Should I shoot myself for turning down the 2970? Any help would be appreciated.


     

  2. ExitThirteen

    ExitThirteen Grumpy and Cranky

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    1,297
    The 2970N2 is way too much output for the T/S 500, on both AM and SSB.

    The Davemade 4 pill would work ok if you keep your input on it to about 100W swing on AM. On SSB, you'd kill the amp. Davemade amps aren't made for SSB, so as long as you're not running SSB with the Davemade, you should be fine.


    ~Cheers~
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    991
    Agreed. This amp would work well if you can keep it fed.

    TNT 1200HD
     
  4. TD126

    TD126 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Agree

    I concur with the others. IF you can get the DK DOWN on the 2970 to no more than 2-3 watts you MIGHT be able to run the Texas Star. I personally would NOT recommend the DM. Just because it doesn't have SSB switching. I do have a Comp DM it was custom made with SSB. I bought it from a lady whose Husband had passed. I do not like it as it is not a very clean amp, being a comp. I may try to sell it...works good but too dirty for me. I do like a cleaner amp that won't bleed all over the place on people 40 miles away.
     
  5. GnG8d

    GnG8d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    331
    wow, 8 irf520's driving 4 2879's ... smh
     
    rabbiporkchop likes this.
  6. 222DBFL

    222DBFL Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    1,311
    In reality you almost need an 8 pill amp IMO, I would just turn the radio back up to around 150-200 watts pep and let it ride. Get a good antenna system and you will talk a long ways. You didn't mention what antenna system you were running and to me that's the most important part of the system, besides having the radio. If you get a proper antenna setup, with 150-200 watts on ssb, you can talk around the world when conditions allow. But if you are looking into getting an amp for that radio you may have to step it up to an 8 pill or at least a good 6 pill IMO. But then you will need a larger charging system and will definitely need a proper antenna and power setup. That's JMO, but I would get the. 2970 turned up to around 150-200 watts pep and run it like that and see what you get. Make sure to use good power wires and ground everything good as well , and did I mention make sure to have a good antenna system. Good luck and god bless.
     
    jessejamesdallas likes this.
  7. RadioGuy772

    RadioGuy772 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    42
    Either way, you will be overdriving the crap out of either amplifier. And while AM is more "forgiving" as far as how you might sound on the air, with either amplifier, you are going to be over driving it way past compression and saturation and creating a mess of junk out to the antenna. The dave made will handle it better because of its no bias design it might let you get away with it.

    As far as turning down the 2970n2, to reduce the carrier that much and have it "swing" up that high is definetely creating distortion already. The positive peaks will be way too high, and the negative ones happen to be approaching "zero" for a finite amount of time during voice peaks. More splatter and distortion.

    The proper solution would be to have the internal amplifier on the 2970 / 2970n2 put on a switch (which is easy to do, basically just inline with the wire going to the relay on the PA (power amplifier) board so it is running without the amplifier, then go with a DX500. Nice, clean output for the most part, everything will last forever and work right. If you ever get rid of the amplifier then you can turn the one in the radio back on.

    If you *INSIST* on using the amplifier in the radio, then go with an 8 or 12 transistor amplifier. Even then, it's a bit much for the 8 transistor, but if the radio's AMC and ALC are intact and limiters haven't been removed or yanked out or played with, the ALC can be set to about 100 watts, the carrier to about 25 watts, and AMC for about 100 watts peak on AM, it will drive an 8 transistor amplifier nicely without splattering down the road and trying to squeeze every last watt out of everything.

    My way of thinking is, if I want more power, get a bigger amplifier. I don't think I have ever burned up an amplifier, gone through tubes, or destroyed finals in my gear in the past 25+ years I have been playing radio.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Big Dog 59

    Big Dog 59 Big Dog !!!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    They told me that same thing with my 2995dx that it would not sound right if i turned it down to 1.5 watts , well they are wrong ..I run a TS-500v Sounds great . Done it on a few of those radios ..


    I hit the TS with 1.5 or 2 watts dead let it swing , hardly gets warm ..

    I know we are talking about 2 diff radios here , but you might try turning it down some more before you spend more cash ...

    Just my 2 cents worth means nothing !!!!! Have fun....
     
  9. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    243
    this is very good info. and i agree with it completely
     
  10. Sonar

    Sonar Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    830
    Dropping down the n2's output to 60-100 watts and driving a high drive amp that loafs along @ 800-1k will obtain the goal one strives for when using an amplifier.
    Going from 200 to 500 by dropping down the n2's output from 150/200 to 11/2 - 2 watts doesn't make sense.
    The only difference will show on your external power meter and not on the other end where one wants it.
    The 4 x rule always applies.
    The objective to using an amp is to gain s-units/DB gain.
    And if that won't be the outcome why bother? Good luck. 73's
     
    543_Dallas and rabbiporkchop like this.
  11. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    243
    a possible solution is have respectable tech install a toggle switch to turn amp off on the n2..or buy a 2950. last and most expensive option is buy a 8 pill amp . none of this is probaly what ya wanted to hear but to my best of knowledge this is where your at
     
  12. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    991
    I'm always amazed at how many people go and buy a hotrod radio, but then try and run it with too small of an amplifier. If your going to buy the big radio you have to also buy the big amplifier. Recently had a local with an old style 2970 (150 ish watts) and he told me he was going to add a Texas Star 350 Hiiii Driiiiive and really kick some butt.
     
    Ranch55 and 543_Dallas like this.
  13. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    2,893
    If this is for a base find an amp with an 8877. Loaf the radio and amp to get 3 or 4 times the power of a 4 pill.
     
    BBB likes this.
  14. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    3,371
    Yes, you can install a "barefoot" switch that turns off the radio's internal linear.

    We call that one the "Suicide Switch" when a customer asks to have it installed. Sure, we'll install it. But only after making it clear that Murphy's Law will always apply, sooner or later. It's not a question of "if", but a question of "when" the switch will be set to "high" when a low-drive amplifier is in line with the radio.

    73
     
    wavrider and 9C1Driver like this.
  15. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    2,893
    I put an on/off switch in a Saturn turbo for a friend. He wanted to be able to switch between a sweep tube amp and an 8 pill.

    I put a safety in the tube amp so he couldn't screw up. The amp had to be connected to the radio with an rca cable and turning on the internal amp in the radio would put the tube amp in standby.
     
    Shadetree Mechanic and 9C1Driver like this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!