1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Constant static on base..

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by PA770, Sep 16, 2018.

  1. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    Ok. Put up a A99. It's on 16' of 'top rail' post and about 32'6" to the tip..

    The bottom of the mounting post is sitting on the ground.

    IMG_20180814_145154046.jpg

    All my ham gear and power supplies are grounded to the house ground via an outlet and I verified by meter to be grounded to the ground rod and breaker box which is like 6' away from the radios. My HF gear has some QRM but the CB has it worse IMO, like constant 2-3 on the radio meter.

    I verified with meter the ground for the antenna connectors are grounded together as well between the radio and amp and everything else as well.

    I turned off all breakers in the house minus and hooked up 14ah gel cell from my go kit.. and with everything off I still get 2-3 on the static.. this was just the CB being powered.. amp was not on at all.. static present unless I undo the coax from radio..

    Now keep in mind I live maybe 30-40' from the power lines here.. just norm ones, not the tall monsters.. you can see the power lines in the pic to the right and the transformer.

    Screenshot_20180916-123541.png

    My HF is an endfed with a 1-1 choke just outside the wall..



    Also note I have not officially grounded the antenna post or antenna outside yet.. just propped the post up against the vinyl siding, used 4 mounting brackets, and put the A99 on top..

    I do have 3 screws holding the posts together (shown in above pic), I can use one screw for a ground wire if needed.. or do I need to put a ground wire right on the A99 U-Bolt up at the top??

    Thinking of a ground wire for antenna to run to a small ground rod in the dirt next the antenna mounting mast, and maybe try my HF choke 1-1 on the CB and see if that helps??

    Any other things I can try that are free..
     
    #1 PA770, Sep 16, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2018
    Rwb likes this.

  2. Rwb

    Rwb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    222
    I got almost same setup lines close by also.but i grounded my a 99 and i dont get static.my a99 is clamped to belled pipe which i welded at every joint.i then drove a steel T fence post deep n used a grinder n shined it good and the pipes where they contac the T post coated bare spots with silver electric contac grease.migh try grounding yours.
    Im going to take mine up 1 more joint of that pipe 5 ft joints
     
  3. w9cll

    w9cll W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1,900
    Move the a99 to a different spot, hook your HF rig to the a99 and see if you still get the static. If you do as I said move the antenna. Your end feed is horizontal and this is why your not hearing the static on it. Most electical noise is verticaly poleerized.
     
    Rwb likes this.
  4. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    I was entertaining trying the HF rig on it where it's currently at.. easy Coax swap, can also use the MFJ941 to check SWR as well on the A99 maybe..

    Moving the A99 is a PITA.. did by myself and again wife hates.me doing anything with any radio.. not allowed hobbies she said..
     
    Rwb and 357magnum like this.
  5. sp5it

    sp5it Master of puppets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    440
    A99 is end fed antenna. That means coax acts as antenna, so pipe too. That is very bad.
    To avoid is a must to make:
    1. Choke balun right under antenna.
    2. Choke balun at coax entrance to shack.

    Balun - 11 turns of RG-58 on 2x FT240-52 cores (better) or 5 turns of RG-58 on 4.25" air cored (good for quick check).

    Observe if during rain/wet soil static will be less. That means there is a problem with power transformer connections/grounding.
    Mike
    p.s. A99 is worst choice you could make IMO.
    M
     
    #5 sp5it, Sep 16, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2018
    Rwb and 357magnum like this.
  6. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    I will try my HF MFJ choke right below first. I can do that easiest to see if I get any change.

    I didn't leave any excess coax to coil up.. ughh
     
    Rwb likes this.
  7. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    557
    You can get a 10ft coax to add to the top for a choke. Put a wire on the antenna mount and run it down to a ground rod. Ground your radios and amps to the same rod. Do not use the electrical ground for this. Check out my antenna and station grounds.
    https://www.worldwidedx.com/threads/sirio-new-vector-4000-install.226677/
     
    Rwb likes this.
  8. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    Good idea on making a choke and just adding on using so239-so239 to add 10' of coax..

    The issue with that is radios/amps are on the opposite side of house as far as the grounding goes. And I don't have 150' of wire to go around my house to the opposite side.

    I have no problem running a ground wire down from the antenna mount to a new ground rod or something..
     
  9. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    I might pop the McKinley back in my pickup and see if static is as bad sitting in my truck about 75' from the same power pole while in my driveway..

    If I don't get it there maybe I could just move the antenna more toward the other end of the trailer.. add more coax and a choke in the process.. I have another 25' of LMR240 here just need to add another PL259 to other end..

    Just speculating here..
     
    Rwb likes this.
  10. Redbeard U812

    Redbeard U812 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    94
    I agree about good grounding practices. My homebrew Star Banger Antenna is grounded via mast, which is 8'-0" in the ground. There is a 12 ga. wire running from the bottom of the actual antenna on the ground side, it is terminated @ a ground rod at bottom of antenna mast. From the pole just below ground level I have (4) 2" dia. pipes (about 3'-6" lgth.) welded horz. to the vertical 2" dia. mast (pipe) @ 90 deg. From the ends of the horz. 2" dia. pipes, 2" dia. x 2'-6" lgth. pipe (typ. 4) driven into the ground. The mast is also connected to another 2" dia. pipe (via a 1" dia. pipe) used for a 50 amp. RV pedestal which is grounded @ the pipe and through the electrical system to the barn. All pipe connection is butt-weld. Panel in barn is grounded to 8" dia. vert. support which is welded to the rest of the metal pole barn structure. Pole barn has 2" pipe verticals spaced 4'-0" apart that the sheet metal is screwed to. The barn is 30' x 40'.

    The RV power pedestal and antenna are about 5'-0" apart. The 50 amp. direct burial (4 wires) had to be pulled back out of the ground due to water shorting system.....we created an over head line by extending to the RV pedestal vert. with more 2" pipe. So the antenna and the 50 amp. power are closer than the picture you have.

    We have a receiver hooked up in the barn, old military unit, with a make shift long wire running out of barn and two coiled CB antennas sitting horz. on the tractor tire outside. All kinds of static and noise, but this radio is only grounded through the electrical system (if that). Belongs to my friend who is older and more experienced in radio, but just can't seem to figure out why he has so much static. Buzz effect, comes and goes. Can't seem to beat grounding into that old goat.

    Now my radio is out in the RV. No static, crystal clear. Even the AC unit does not bother reception and the antenna pole is only 5' away. I attribute my clear reception to the multiple grounding locations. I have no chokes on coax, antenna tuned 1.2/ 1 swr.
     
    #10 Redbeard U812, Sep 17, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
    Rwb likes this.
  11. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,754
    You can ground and add chokes until the cows come home. Won't do a thing for radiated broadbanded RFI.
     
    Rwb likes this.
  12. Redbeard U812

    Redbeard U812 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    94
    Both of these radios are coming off same electrical system. Now there was a transformer replacement after Harvey. Transformer is not as big as original. We have another theory about the grounding at the neighbors house. Many factors can play.

    Currently have your link playing. Damn that's good.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yan9WilVmEg
     
    Rwb likes this.
  13. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,754
    You have recording of your noise? Transformers are rarely a source. Once they start arcing, they'll go boom. Loose hardware on them, can radiate. Cracked insulators usually crackle when raining. Try calling your power company and ask to speak with their RFI guy. He/she should can quickly confirm if it's their problem, or something around you.
     
    Rwb and Redbeard U812 like this.
  14. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,754
    I've had very good luck tracking down RFI using an HT with AM receive and a dualband handheld yagi, Helps greatly, it the HT has an attenuator. You can damn near pinpoint the source. Only other thing that's more accurate, would be an ultrasonic locator with a parabolic reflector. Tune the HT down in the Airband portion. A regular AM radio with a good quality internal bar antenna is a good tool, too. You can locate the direction of the source by nulling the signal by turning the radio. Once you get a heading, then use you HT to track it down. These techniques work good for noise in the higher bands, but the source on lower bands can be very far away. You would need to use an oscilloscope to capture the signature in your shack, then drive around until you pick up the identical signal, which will be your source.
     
    #14 Mudfoot, Sep 17, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
    Rwb likes this.
  15. Redbeard U812

    Redbeard U812 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    94
    We have been talking about calling the VEC, you know how that is. When the guys came to change transformer they admitted the smaller transformer. We are along the coast in Texas and have had a lot of rain. It has increased. Receiver in barn is not grounded except by elect system. We figure the Co-Op installed too small of transformer to run power needs. I'm sure there is some RFI leakage from power supply. Just got to call and get a health check up.
     
    Rwb likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!