1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Factory power lead Stryker SR 955

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by skip searcher, Oct 4, 2018.

  1. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anyone have an idea what Gauge the power cord on a Stryker SR 955 is , ive seen a 10 gauge 14 foot power lead with a 25 amp blade fuse on the live wire which would connect to the Battery , I'm not sure how many Amps the radio draws I’m basically Asking would the Same Gauge as the powerlead be sufficent to run all the way to Battery for a mobile installation .


     

  2. Dmans

    Dmans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    189
    The longer the lead, the fatter the cable.
    I.e.-If the factory lead is 10ga and about 6 feet and you need 20 feet to make your run, the 6 foot cable will not carry the same amperage for the 20 foot distance. I would go 1 or 2 sizes bigger in gage.

    73's
    David
     
  3. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks kindly it didn’t feel like 10 Gauge but I’m no Expert by any means a couple of radio shops sell 14 feet of 10 Gauge I suspect for use of high powered radios , the 955 doesn’t fit into those Brackets .
     
  4. Dmans

    Dmans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    189
    skip searcher,
    The link below may be of interest to you. Factory fuse supplied with your SR 955 should be a pretty good indicator of the current draw of the radio.

    https://www.bluesea.com/resources/1437

    73's
    David
     
    skip searcher likes this.
  5. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,647
    I had a 955 for a short period of time. I believe the fuse was a 15 amp. I did replace the factory fuse holder because it was getting warm when used on FM. I forget how much voltage drop I had across the fuse holder but it was not acceptable.

    You can probably go to an auto part store and get some heavy duty wire and fuse holder cheaper than the premade harness. You'll just have to solder the connector on.

    Overkill on the wiring is good just use the proper fuse where it connects to the battery. If the fuse is at the radio the wiring between the fuse and battery can still short out and start a fire.
     
    skip searcher likes this.
  6. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    For most mobile installs I use 10 THHN wire. It's cheap by the foot and rated for 30 amps all day. Safely IMO for upto 300w or so.

    Anything thicker than 10 gets harder to route as well.

    Look at car audio fuse holders.. some go as high as guage 4 or more for wire size..

    I agree any heat is bad.. whether it be the fuse holder, wire, or connections
     
  7. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok so I would get wire cheaper at an Auto store and a blade fuse holder .
     
  8. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Can anyone give me an estimation of Amount of wire Needed the premade Harness i see at Walcott radio was 14 feet

    is that length of run Needed to go from the car Battery to the radio would 6 foot be sufficent .
     
  9. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    I’m currently looking at wire on Amazon 10 AWG
     
  10. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Where do you purchase 10 THHN wire specific store
     
  11. PA770

    PA770 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    233
    I went to HD or Lowe's. It's on spools in the electrical dept.

    Again this is what I did.

    I'm sure others will chime in today
     
  12. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    567
    THHN is a little stiff. I like MTW.
     
    skip searcher likes this.
  13. Low_Boy

    Low_Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    143
    TAPE MEASURE?
     
  14. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    567
    What vehicle is it going in? Where will it be mounted? Make sure to use a grommet when going through the firewall so it doesn't chafe the wire.
     
    PA770, undertaker and skip searcher like this.
  15. skip searcher

    skip searcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hyaundai Elantra
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!