• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

How to diagnose and resolve an apparent RF issue in my Anytone AT-5555N II setup

TimmyTheTorch

Dec 11, 2022
Northeast Wisconsin
I am told that I have an RF issue in my setup that is causing clipping, distortion and generally a difficult to understand signal even when running low boost or even no boost. I vaguely know in general what it is but to be honest I do not know the proper/methodical way to problem solve this one. I work as a data/BI engineer and while it is a technical profession, the skills are not exactly helpful here.

I have been running between 5 and 8 watts into the KL503HD, radio modulation set between 22 and 30, Zetagi mic modulation between 5 and 8 and the KL503HD anywhere from 1 to 6. I do get decent dead key from the amp given the varying power I put into it.

Here is the setup I have and all of it is new within the past few months:

Anytone AT-5555N II (purchased from and tuned by Scott's Radios, A+ vendor by the way)
Zetagi MB+5 mic and a stock Anytone mic
RM Italy KL503HD
RM Italy 27/586 low pass filter
Powermax PM4-120 power supply
MFJ-941E Versa Tuner II (antenna tuner)
Micronta SWR/Power tester
50 ft of RG213 coax from tuner to MFJ 272, 1.5 KW Lightning Surge Protector (connected to 8 foot copper ground rod)
35 ft of RG213 coax from Lightning Surge Protector to Maco V58 antenna mounted 30 feet in air.
The mast holding the antenna is grounded to a second 8 foot copper ground rod.
New RG8X coax patch cords 1-2 feet long.

There are 3 foot long, 4 gauge stranded cables going from the PSU to a 150 amp bus. The radio and amp both pull power from this bus with the amp using 6 gauge cable and the Q5N2 using what came with it.

Here is the sequence in which I have the items connected:

Anytone AT5555N II radio.