RESPONSE:
I completed an OCR pass and checked the extracted text against the scanned tables in Alinco. I have
not generated the spreadsheet or selected replacement parts yet, because the source list does not provide physical dimensions, lead spacing, or an explicit quantity column, and a few entries need confirmation.
1. Scope and component-type interpretation
The parts list uses
“Chemical C” for the capacitors that appear to be conventional aluminium electrolytics. I propose treating every “Chemical C” entry as in scope. The document does not literally say “aluminium electrolytic”, so this is a type interpretation rather than an explicit statement.
I have excluded:
- “Chip Tantal” entries, because these are tantalum capacitors.
- “Chip C”, ceramic, mica, film and trimmer capacitors.
- Entries whose capacitance is in pF and whose description identifies another dielectric.
There are no entries where the printed description oscillates between “Chemical C” and “Chip Tantal”. The main scope ambiguity is therefore whether you want all “Chemical C” parts treated as aluminium electrolytics.
2. High-confidence electrolytic entries
The following transcription is high confidence from the scan. Each reference appears once in the list, but the document does
not provide a formal quantity field.
VHF Main Unit
- C5E, part code CE0200, Chemical C, UW 50 V 2.2 µF, DR-570E only
- C8E, part code CE0189, Chemical C, TWSS 100 µF/16 V, DR-570E only
- C40, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C48, part code CE0189, Chemical C, TWSS 100 µF/16 V
- C49, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C50, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C52, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C58, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C59, part code CE0181, Chemical C, TWSS 470 µF/10 V
- C84, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C90, part code CE0178, Chemical C, TWSS 220 µF/10 V
- C93, part code CE0078, Chemical C, MS9 100 µF/25 V
- C100, part code CE0044, Chemical C, MSS 10 µF/16 V
UHF Main Unit
- C34, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C72, part code CE0200, Chemical C, UW 50 V 2.2 µF
- C79, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C83, part code CE0178, Chemical C, TWSS 220 µF/10 V
- C103, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
- C119, part code CE0189, Chemical C, TWSS 100 µF/16 V
- C121, part code CE0044, Chemical C, MS5 10 µF/16 V
- C128, part code CE0044, Chemical C, MS5 10 µF/16 V
- C137, part code CE0044, Chemical C, MS5 10 µF/16 V
- C140, part code CE0188, Chemical C, TWSS 47 µF/16 V
One additional UHF Main entry,
C82, is withheld from this high-confidence group because of the capacitance-unit contradiction described below.
CPU Unit
- C3, part code CE0037, Chemical C, MS5 100 µF/6 V
- C4, part code CE0037, Chemical C, MS5 100 µF/6 V
- C11, part code CE0037, Chemical C, MSS 100 µF/6 V
The board association is readable from the column layout, although the OCR text stream itself interleaves adjacent columns.
Control Unit
- C13, part code CE0097, Chemical C, MS5 68 µF/10 V
- C49, part code CE0097, Chemical C, MS5 68 µF/10 V
- C55, part code CE0198, Chemical C, MS5 100 µF/10 V
- C56, part code CE0198, Chemical C, MS5 100 µF/10 V
Power Source Unit
- C78, part code CE0193, Chemical C, TWSS 1000 µF/16 V
UHF Final Unit
The following entries are readable as Chemical C, MS5, 10 µF/16 V:
- C7, part code CE0044
- C13, part code CE0044
- C14, part code CE0044
- C15, part code CE0044
- C45, part code CE0044
- C48, part code CE0044
- C52, part code CE0044
- C54, part code CE0044
CTCSS EJ-5U Unit, T model only
- C5, part code CE0116, Chemical C, MS7 6.3 V/47 µF
The printed order is unusual, but readable as
47 µF, 6.3 V.
3. Entries requiring confirmation
UHF Main Unit C82
The scan/OCR gives:
- Reference: C82
- Part code: CE0178
- Description: Chemical C, TWSS 220 pF/10 V
This is internally contradictory. The adjacent
C83 uses the same CE0178 code and is printed as
220 µF/10 V. A chemical electrolytic marked 220 pF would be implausible, but I will not silently correct the source. My likely transcription is
220 µF/10 V, subject to your confirmation.
UHF Final Unit C53/C54 area
The scan’s column alignment around C52-C54 is difficult, and the OCR produces one reading of
“10 pF/16 V” among otherwise repeated CE0044 Chemical C entries. The visual table appears to associate
C54 with CE0044 and 10 µF/16 V, but this should be confirmed before purchasing.
Series-name inconsistencies
The scan includes visually similar series labels:
These are legible enough to transcribe, but the document gives no series datasheets or manufacturer identity. In particular,
MS5 versus MSS could be important if these codes encode construction or dimensions.
4. Missing quantity information
The source has columns for:
- Reference number
- Part code
- Part name and number
It has
no quantity column. My proposed BOM treatment is:
- One unit for each distinct reference designation.
- Consolidated purchasing quantity equal to the number of references using the same replacement part.
- DR-570E-only parts kept separately flagged rather than included automatically in a DR-570T kit.
- The CTCSS EJ-5U capacitor kept as an optional T-model accessory-board item.
This quantity treatment is an engineering assumption and is not directly stated by the parts list.
5. Missing physical-dimension and lead-spacing information
The attached parts list provides
no explicit case diameter, body height, lead pitch, lead diameter or mounting style for any Chemical C entry. The series-like labels such as TWSS, MS5 and MS7 are not sufficient by themselves to establish dimensions without a corresponding legacy datasheet.
Consequently, I cannot yet truthfully certify that any supplier replacement is “same size or smaller” solely from this document. For the spreadsheet, the honest options would be:
- Mark every original dimension as“Not stated in supplied parts list” and compare replacements only after you provide measured dimensions; or
- Research legacy datasheets for CE0188, CE0189, CE0178, CE0044 and the other Alinco codes, while clearly identifying any dimension derived from an external datasheet rather than the supplied list.
Similarly, the original list does not state:
- Lead pitch or spacing
- Radial versus axial configuration
- Temperature rating
- Endurance or lifetime
- ESR or impedance class
- Ripple-current rating
- Tolerance
- Polarity orientation
- Maximum body height imposed by the chassis
6. Confirmation needed before supplier sourcing
Please confirm these four points:
- Treat every“Chemical C” entry as an aluminium electrolytic in scope.
- Interpret UHF Main C82 CE0178 as 220 µF/10 V, not 220 pF/10 V.
- Accept one capacitor per reference designation where the list has no quantity column.
- Either provide measured original dimensions, or approve a BOM that marks original dimensions as unavailable and flags dimensional compliance as unverified until those measurements are supplied.
Once those points are resolved, I can research current Farnell/CPC, DigiKey and Mouser listings and build the supplier-specific workbook without embedding unsupported dimensional assumptions.
Next post....