• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Handles and CB Etiquette?

CyberRider

Aug 21, 2018
I'm new to the citizens band. Radio not yet installed even. But I'm wondering, do people still use handles and is there a certain CB etiquette? I'm clueless, so please be merciful in your replies. I can't find a thread on this forum about those topics. Help me!

It has gotten pretty informal since the 70s and all the Hollywood-movie slang and schtick we remember from those days.

A lot of CB operators bailed out and got ham licenses when the morse-code requirement was dropped 14 or so years back. CB started to get really quiet since them.

And a few of them have come back to CB once they found that the ham bands are now populated by former CB operators with ham licenses.

And sometimes you'll still hear a driver refer to the flashing warning lights at a construction zone as an "electric indian".

It has gotten pretty informal since the 70s and all the Hollywood-movie slang and schtick we remember from those days.

A lot of CB operators bailed out and got ham licenses when the morse-code requirement was dropped 14 or so years back. CB started to get really quiet since them.

And a few of them have come back to CB once they found that the ham bands are now populated by former CB operators with ham licenses.

And sometimes you'll still hear a driver refer to the flashing warning lights at a construction zone as an "electric indian".

What about the 10 code? People still use it? Should I learn it? People still say "Over"? Truckers still yack on the highways?

Porkchop started as a handle when I started driving many years ago, now it’s not a handle...it’s my name. Everybody calls me by that name, well almost everyone. What my wife calls me I won’t put up here, don’t want a warning.